Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: How many rooms?  (Read 6905 times)

DaFool

• Lurker
    • View Profile
How many rooms?
« on: May 11, 2009, 01:46:48 PM »

Hi all,

I'm just a hobbyist and new to adventure gaming, so I'm not sure if this question's been answered before, I tried searching but only retrieved vague answers.  It would be nice if some veterans would be able to gauge the amount of effort required and provide a specific answer.

I'm planning to take about 6 months - 1 year creating an adventure game all by myself - composing all the music, doing all the scripting, and creating all the graphics.  I'm really tempted to go 2.5D but I figured having to touch up the renders would become a chore enough, so I couldn't even begin to think about exporting for the .x format.

I want to be able to sell the game for $8-12, so it has to be relatively short (3-4 hours), so I can concentrate on quality.

The question is how many rooms would a game in this range have?  Right now I have 16 rooms all mapped out but there will be back-and-forth and I read that having to pass through a scene many times is a big no-no.  Then again I have more experience with rpgs so I think of the rooms as town locations so there wouldn't necessarily have to be a puzzle to unlock each one, only in the 'dungeon' (puzzle-solving) locations.  I plan to execute everything simply through various ways of inventory manipulation, so a big portion of my game design involves special objects - one-time use, reusable, etc. in various combinations.

It seems there are quite a number of industry professionals here so this forum's pretty quiet since everyone else besides myself seems to know what they're doing.  Thank you for your time ^_^.

Shagma

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Re: How many rooms?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 04:54:02 PM »