Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: How do I create THEORA video files  (Read 5100 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
How do I create THEORA video files
« on: March 09, 2006, 03:01:00 PM »

Hi,
    I want to start using THEORA in my project, but where do I start, how can I create the files to script in WME.

Is there a program or tutorial that covers this?

Cheers
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5674
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2006, 04:52:17 PM »

oh cool, I tried to look in WIKI under tutorials but nothing there...sorry, this will be fine
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2006, 10:57:42 AM »

Hi I have created my theora video using VC player but when I try to execute it with Game.PlayTheora("filename"); I get sound but no video??

Is this because I did not have the theo codec on my machine at time of creating the file??
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2006, 01:07:51 PM »

Hi I have created my theora video using VC player but when I try to execute it with Game.PlayTheora("filename"); I get sound but no video??

Is this because I did not have the theo codec on my machine at time of creating the file??

No, the VLC is quite independant. Can you play your created Theora video with VLC itself? If yes, something else in your WME script is wrong. If not, try to create the video again first.
Logged
Mooh!

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2006, 01:15:36 PM »

no I cannot play the video after VLC has encoded it to Theora.

Is there any settings etc
I have just followed Mnemonic`s tutorial on how to create the Theora video.
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2006, 02:39:40 PM »

Well, uhm, that tutorial came from a discussion in the IRC channel and actually I was able to encode my videos exactly that way. If you can't play the videos with VideoLan itself, you either did something different or your version has some trouble, hard to say... can you upload me the encoded video that doesn't play?
Logged
Mooh!

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2006, 02:46:30 PM »

ok I have found out that re-installing the VLC software sorts out that I can now encode in THEORA. But still no visual on the video, only sound, I tried to play the original test video AVI through VLC and it would only play the sound no picture - blank.
But if I play the file through WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER I get sound and picture.

So I think it is to do with the format of the original (before encoded) video file. It is AVI but not sure what type, if it is compressed would that matter?? What formats have you used??
Thanks for this help Jerrot.
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2006, 03:03:09 PM »

yes I was right, the AVI was compessed with microsoft video1 codec and VLC does not like it, done another AVI in uncompressed state and VLC will play it and make into THEORA. What is the best format, for quality and speed, size etc before encoding?
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1454
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2006, 03:07:47 PM »

You can also try a nightly build of VLC to see if it changes anything.
http://nightlies.videolan.org/

EDIT: It won't kill your computer ;)
« Last Edit: March 10, 2006, 03:10:41 PM by odnorf »
Logged
fl*p

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2006, 03:11:41 PM »

Its a bit fussy on the original format I think Odorf, but other than that it works.

Just checking the quality now hahahahaha :D
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2006, 03:30:12 PM »

Always try to have "uncompressed AVI" as source.
Using some compressed source like DivX or whatever leads to a very bad quality when compressing it "again" to Theora.

(Yes, uncompressed AVIs are very very very BIG. :) )
Logged
Mooh!

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2006, 03:33:35 PM »

ok have used uncompressed AVI , VLC plays it but when it comes to encoding to THEORA it starts to, then stops and I get a microsoft error message window appear saying VLC had to end becuase of an error.


Anyone had this before?? hahahahahahahaa I will get this going and the visual will be bad quality hahahahahahahahaha
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2006, 03:42:17 PM »

Actually yes, I had that before - but I've got no clue anymore what I changed until it worked... :-\
Logged
Mooh!

vadbag

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: How do I create THEORA video files
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2006, 04:48:44 PM »

I guess it depends on the type of compression of the initial file. Some of them convert perfectly, whereas others produce errors.
Logged
WME rocks!!!
 

Page created in 0.254 seconds with 17 queries.