Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: debuging DLL's and WME crash reporting  (Read 2490 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
debuging DLL's and WME crash reporting
« on: December 26, 2007, 05:46:28 PM »

Hey
I've noticed that I can't debug crashes within my DLL now.
I want to see the stack calls and local variables in my DLLS so i run WME through my visual studio (as i did in the 1.7's of WME).
Before, in 1.7 when my DLL crash on access violation, i would go to the right point in the VC debugger, but now - the WME crash reporting tool takes over and i don't get to the VC at all.
I tried finding a way to disable the crash reporting, but looks like i can't do it when i'm using the wme in debug mode, without the need to build the whole game's packages, which is a major inconvenience when trying to debug...

Oded
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5674
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: debuging DLL's and WME crash reporting
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2007, 05:50:56 PM »

Try deleting or renaming the "wme_report.dll" file in WME's install directory.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: debuging DLL's and WME crash reporting
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2007, 06:10:15 PM »

will do - on my next debugging session.
Logged

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: debuging DLL's and WME crash reporting
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2007, 06:10:45 PM »

but I would rather prefer there will be a checkbox for it rather then needing to rename the dlll ;-)
Logged
 

Page created in 0.193 seconds with 18 queries.