Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Author Topic: Error initializing accelerated renderer.  (Read 4628 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Myxini

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Error initializing accelerated renderer.
« on: February 27, 2008, 01:28:40 PM »

Hi!

I had been using an older version of WME up until recently with no problems (including 3D projects).
However, since installing the latest version I get an error message that reads;

"Error initializing accelerated renderer. Sticking back to software..."

This happens whenever I try to open a project. Also If I try to run a standalone project that requires acceleration, It tells me my computer has no 3D acceleration...

On top of this, I reinstalled my older version of WME only to find IT now has the same problem.

I have an Nvidia Geforce Go 7900GTX and have tried the three drivers I have available with no success.
My machine also runs Vista and has no problems with the many other 3d accelerated tools I use.

What on earth has gone wrong?
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 40
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5669
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Error initializing accelerated renderer.
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 01:42:15 PM »

Try running the dxdiag tool (just type "dxdiag" into Vista's search box) and go to the Display tab. Check whether it says Direct3D acceleration is enabled (or if there are any problems listed).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Myxini

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Error initializing accelerated renderer.
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 01:47:46 PM »

Yep, according to DxDiag; everything is enabled and no problems were found...

Incidentally, the version which worked previously was 1.8.1

Thanks for the quick response by the way!
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 01:51:42 PM by Myxini »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 40
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5669
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Error initializing accelerated renderer.
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 02:17:26 PM »

Well, the renderer definitely hasn't changed since 1.8.1, so probably something must have changed about your configuration... I'm out of clues though. So you're using the latest ForceWare now?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Myxini

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Error initializing accelerated renderer.
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2008, 02:20:31 PM »

Well, since my computer is a laptop (Y'know how they are about drivers) I am using the latest drivers I have available.

I guess I'll have to reset my machine to factory settings and try again.

Thanks for your time!
Logged
 

Page created in 0.175 seconds with 18 queries.