Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different  (Read 13206 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dionysius

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • On the Tracks of Dinosaurs

When the actor sits down and stands up it looks like engine plays twice the first frame of the animation. It is noticeable, that the actor twitches between "standup" and "idle" and between "sitdown" and "work".

Animations:
"sitdown"   - actor sits down at the computer
"work"       -  actor hits the keys of the keyboard (he is sitting)
"standup"   - actor stands up from the computer

Here is the exe-file, which demonstrates the bug: http://reptilesquest.mirgames.ru/download/bug.zip (5,2 Mb)

Press F1 - the actor will sit down.
Press F2 - he will stand up.

Code:
Code: [Select]
if(Keyboard.KeyCode==VK_F1)
  {
  actor.PlayAnim("sitdown");
actor.IdleAnimName = "work";
  }
  else if(Keyboard.KeyCode==VK_F2)
  {
  actor.PlayAnim("standup");
actor.IdleAnimName = "none";
  }
The actor has no "none" animation. I did this to show the bug better. It is noticeable, that at the end of the "standup" animation the first frame is played again.


Part of .act3d-file
Code: [Select]
  ANIMATION
  {
    NAME="sitdown"
    LOOPING=FALSE
  }

  ANIMATION
  {
    NAME="standup"
    LOOPING=FALSE
  }
 
  ANIMATION
  {
    NAME="work"
    LOOPING=TRUE
  }
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5674
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2008, 11:51:38 AM »

That's nice and sweet, but you could you *please* provide me with sources of this demo? Compiled and bound to executable it's pretty much useless for testing... Thanks.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Dionysius

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • On the Tracks of Dinosaurs
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2008, 04:00:16 PM »

Please, read the PM :)
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5674
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2008, 09:30:47 PM »

Thank you!
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Dionysius

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • On the Tracks of Dinosaurs
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2008, 02:25:24 PM »

Fixed? Where I can take the patch?  :)
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5674
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2008, 02:40:58 PM »

Patience, young padawan. I'm trying to push in some more bugfixes.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Dionysius

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • On the Tracks of Dinosaurs
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2008, 04:10:32 PM »

Ok, master Yoda   ;D
Logged

rkitting

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2008, 08:33:16 PM »

I think I am getting this too, switch IdleAnimName to 'lay', then play a 'standup' animation. Then set IdleAnimName to 'idle' again and it jumps to 1st frame of 'standup' really fast like 200ms, even though last frame of standup should transition smoothly to idle.
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1454
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2008, 10:31:44 PM »

Mnemonic (master Yoda? that's something I hear for the first time ;D ;D) has already said it's fixed for the next version. For now I think that 1.8.7 test version also has this bug fixed if you want to test it.
Logged
fl*p

Dionysius

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • On the Tracks of Dinosaurs
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2008, 03:08:32 AM »

For now I think that 1.8.7 test version also has this bug fixed if you want to test it.
Are you talk about this http://dead-code.org/download/wme_test_widescreen.zip ?
Logged

rkitting

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2008, 04:38:44 PM »

Sure I'll be willing to test it asap :)
Logged

cremen

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Pink Town
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2008, 07:20:26 PM »

WME 1.8.009 bug still present...
Logged

cremen

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Pink Town
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2008, 07:37:03 PM »

sorry, more info:
Actors are 3d (*.x-files)

and some code:
Code: [Select]
albina = Game.LoadActor3D( "actors\albina\albina.act3d" ); // mesh = albina.x
albina.MergeAnims( "actors\female\albinas_special.X" );
albina.IdleAnimName = "read";
so bug still present.
but, if this animation is in original albina.x file and named as "Idle", then no bug
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5674
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2008, 11:17:50 PM »

As far as I can tell, this bug is fixed and it doesn't matter if the animation is in a merged X file or not.
Can you provide a project (with sources) showing some faulty behavior?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

cremen

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Pink Town
Re: PlayAnim() bug. When the first and the last frames are different
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2008, 07:15:19 AM »

ok, this is some sources (with some loading errors)
(sources and compiled package is some dirty archive)

points of interests: scenes\albina\scr\scene_init.script, see the comments

albina.IdleAnimName <- bug here
albina.SetAnimTransitionTime <- some tryouts to fix, but not working.

http://pinktown.ru/public/animbug.zip 2.8 mb (becouse contain compiled packages)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All
 

Page created in 0.257 seconds with 18 queries.