Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Author Topic: No speech in compiled game  (Read 3938 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Birdline

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Birdline Web Site
No speech in compiled game
« on: November 04, 2008, 09:34:52 AM »

Hi all,

I'm tottaly new here,  :), so I have a newbe problem.
I wanted to use the auto speech feature of WME, so I used the string table utility and made my string.
I have a package with some speech files named "greek". I added this dir with AddSpeechDir.
Well when in Project Editor (F5), everything works fine. The actor automatically says the correct audio files (eg 0001.ogg).
But, when I compile the game, I have no speech at all.
Am I doing something wrong?

Best regards,
Spyros

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: No speech in compiled game
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 09:54:28 AM »

Please post exactly where your files are located and what are you sending to AddSpeechDir. Are you perhaps adding the path including the package name? For example instead Game.AddSpeechDir("data\speech\greek"); you should only use Game.AddSpeechDir("speech\greek"); because "data" is the name of the package.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Birdline

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Birdline Web Site
Re: No speech in compiled game
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 10:13:20 AM »

Thanks for quick answer!

I used just "greek", there is no "speech" dir.
Used: Game.AddSpeechDir("greek");

(I could attach an image of the dirs, but I don't see any attachment or uploading options here)

Spyros

Birdline

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Birdline Web Site
Re: No speech in compiled game
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2008, 09:15:22 AM »

OK, I figured out.

As I understand, for WME, packages are not folders. (Am I correct?)
So using Game.AddSpeechDir("greek"); points to nowhere when I compile the game (allthough it works in Project Manager with F5).
I had to add a subfolder to the package.

This is what I did.
Make a package named "greek".
Add a subfolder to this named "voices".
Now I use Game.AddSpeechDir("voices"); This way it is working fine.

More with this.
Make a new package named "english".
Add a subfolder to this named "voices".
Compile the "english" package.
Now if I replace the greek.dcp with the english.dcp, I have my game speaking english. Cool  :)

Spyros

metamorphium

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1511
  • Vampires!
    • View Profile
    • CBE  software s.r.o.
Re: No speech in compiled game
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2008, 10:14:02 AM »

Logged
J.U.L.I.A. Enhanced Edition, Vampires!, J.U.L.I.A., J.U.L.I.A. Untold, Ghost in the Sheet

Birdline

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Birdline Web Site
Re: No speech in compiled game
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2008, 05:23:42 PM »

Metamorphium,
Thanks for the link. I have seen that and wish to see the book finnished.

But anyway, Is there any mistakes about my above thinking?
Actually, the user selects the language and the installer takes care which package to install.

Best regards,
Spyros

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Re: No speech in compiled game
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2008, 10:40:21 PM »

If you want the user to downlad/install just one language, your work is totally correct. When you use InnoSetup for example ( thats the only tool I use and know, it works with others too ), you could create a web-installer which only downloads the file "english.dcp" for example and installs it as "voices.dcp" which WME then uses.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 19 queries.