Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: photography game  (Read 4570 times)

iain

• Lurker
    • View Profile
    • http://ichatburn.co.uk
photography game
« on: February 22, 2008, 05:24:17 PM »

Hello all! I'm using your wonderful program to make a game for my third year of university. I'm actually studying photography and thats my area really but im getting into this side of things more. I just thought one day, why can't i make a game with photos? Anyway the game is set in mostly in woodland and by the sea in Cornwall. My biggest influence gamewise is probably Syberia but the project started with a set of photo I took mimicking the style of filmmaker Tarkovsky, particuarly in the film Stalker.

You probably all know the game S.T.A.L.K.E.R which was heavily based on bits of the film and came out after I started work on my game. It's not that I hate the game but it missed the point of the film entirely; for example in several scenes of the film we see pistols rusting in puddles of water as guns cannot be used in the zone of the film, every step must be treaden carefully and the landscape respected. Playing S.T.A.L.K.E.R just spurred me on to make a game with tarkovsky's style which I think point and click game can do better, Stalker has lots of slow panning or even still shots for long periods.

Enough guff, here are some shots. As with Stalker there's lots of water in scenes which i've animated mostly in camera (the right image below is an after effect), i found elements like wind and water easier to animate using the camera as my SLR can only shoot 3fps, other things like my friend talking I had to ask him to slow down but it looks good.