Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: DLL functions  (Read 16093 times)

Banbury

• Lurker
  • I'm a llama! Mooh!
    • View Profile
DLL functions
« on: February 19, 2003, 08:49:30 AM »

Hi,
I have another really simple wish ;):
Calling functions from standard C++ DLLs.
As a programmer I'd like to add my own support functions for calculations and maybe some AI.

Greetings

Banbury

Mnemonic

• WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:DLL functions
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2003, 01:02:13 PM »

Yes, I'm seriously thinking about this potentiality. I believe a good plugin system can greatly increase the extensibility, for example I like the way extensibility works in Unreal engine.
Of course, the problem is to design a good interface between the engine and the plugins, but I already have some ideas... :)
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Banbury

• Lurker
  • I'm a llama! Mooh!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2003, 03:09:06 PM »

I think the easiest way would be to allow external function definitions ala Visual Basic.
The declaration could look like this:

function MyFunction(Param1, Param2) external 'mycool.dll';

You'll probably need some form of type information for the parameters and return values.

Greetings

Banbury

Mnemonic

• WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2003, 03:25:43 PM »

Yes, this is the simpliest way. Indeed the type information would be necessary; also, it would only work for primitive data types.
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Banbury

• Lurker
  • I'm a llama! Mooh!
    • View Profile