Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: ok maybe i am dumb... (inventory question)  (Read 11462 times)

fabiobasile

• Occasional poster
    • View Profile
    • my brand new website!!
ok maybe i am dumb... (inventory question)
« on: March 20, 2006, 09:56:50 AM »

i am a newbie, i never was into programming until i realized it would have been an interesting way for me to actually breathe some life in what i do primarily which is 3D animation. My dream and my passion has always been to make an adventure game Fallout style.

I have been writing the story for my game, my wife loves it so i decided it was good enough for me to start translating it into rendered images and start thinking of how to put everything together into a game... until i bumped into WME. Suddenly i had the feeling that scripting wouldn't have been so hard since at least some of the hassle is taken care of by the excellent GUI, still i have to come to terms with the truth: i am not a programmer, hence i still have a lot to learn, so whoever feels like helping me out without being too judgemetal is welcome to speak up.

If any of you guys ever played either Fallout 1 or 2, it is my intention to create something based on the same principle, the character is a survivor from a nuclear holocaust, he must wander the wasteland scavenging for food and watching his own back from all sorts of low-lives. The map is isometric which already works perfectly, the walls and paths are set and ready and all the graphics is ready too. The only problem is the inventory. I had a look at the documentation and the problem is that althou it gives out a wealth of information and sample codes, i felt lost because i had no idea which files exactly i was supposed to insert the code into.