Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Author Topic: BUTTON Question  (Read 4502 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MMR

  • Global Moderator
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 349
  • http://mmrdeveloper.wordpress.com/
    • View Profile
    • TinyWME
BUTTON Question
« on: June 14, 2003, 07:01:29 PM »

Is there any event like "Mouse Over" in the BUTTONs ??

I would like to program a window with a button. The button has a picture. If the mouse pointer goes over the button, it changes it picture.

(My quest is to make a MONKEY ISLAND 2 verbs gui)

Anybody can help me??? (maybe Mnemonic ;) )
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:BUTTON Question
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2003, 07:37:55 PM »

Hm... I can't really answer you question because I haven't tried to do something like that yet. But I can give you a small and usefull information. Jerrot has worked on a working Lucasarts verb bar already (he has released a demo a few months ago). And as far as I know, in a few days (?!?) he might release the sources. He just have to correct a few bugs.

EDIT: Oh... Jerrot posted at the same time... with more usefull information than me as usual :)
« Last Edit: June 14, 2003, 07:54:56 PM by odnorf »
Logged
fl*p

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
Re:BUTTON Question
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2003, 07:40:36 PM »

Is there any event like "Mouse Over" in the BUTTONs ??

Yes, it has the low-level event "Press", you find it in the docs (Button object).

Quote
(My quest is to make a MONKEY ISLAND 2 verbs gui)

I started that with Buttons, but finally used entities in a window (the verb bar at the bottom) to use mouse-over effect, when the mouse is over some object.
You might like to look at this thread:

http://www.dead-code.org/forum/index.php?board=4;action=display;threadid=68;start=msg479#msg479

(BTW, @Mnemonic : Can you adjust the forum search ? you don't find anything with the preselected 60 days and sometime I even can't overwrite them for strange reasons.)

Download and see if you might use it, it's created just for example, I'm not going to use it myself. I want to publish the source code as soon as I cleaned and commented it.

Quote
Anybody can help me??? (maybe Mnemonic ;) )

Or maybe Jerrot. ;)
Logged
Mooh!

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:BUTTON Question
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2003, 08:57:17 PM »

Just for the record: the buttons can automatically change an image if the mouse pointer is over them.

For example:

Code: [Select]
 BUTTON
  {
    NAME = "LookAt"
    X = 46
    Y = 10
    IMAGE = "interface\actions\eye_down.sprite"
    IMAGE_HOVER = "interface\actions\eye_up.sprite"    

    PARENT_NOTIFY = TRUE
  }

In this definition, normally the button uses "eye_down.sprite", but when the mouse is over it, "eye_up.sprite" is used instead.

But Jerrot's verb-bar code is far more advanced and gives more possibilities :)
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

MMR

  • Global Moderator
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 349
  • http://mmrdeveloper.wordpress.com/
    • View Profile
    • TinyWME
Re:BUTTON Question
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2003, 11:21:58 PM »

Thanks Both, Mnemonic & Jerrot!

Jerrot: I hope you release the source code soon :)
Logged
 

Page created in 0.044 seconds with 20 queries.