Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?  (Read 4490 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Baron

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« on: January 21, 2009, 04:18:41 PM »

Hello All, just a simple question. Is it possible to drop characters partially below the floor plane?
My example below doesn't work. but does for all positive numbers.

Code: WME Script
  1. var Convmiko=Game.LoadActor3D("actors\girl\girl.act3d");
  2.   Convmiko.Active = true;
  3.   Convmiko.DropToFloor = false;
  4.   Convmiko.SkipTo3d(416, 776, -10);
  5.   Convmiko.Direction = DI_DOWN;
  6.  

What I am trying to do is have a close up of the 3d character for a conversation. If this is not possible I will have to make a seperate model with the character translated in Max and rexported as a seperate Model. Bit of a messy way to do it though. any suggestions from the brilliant minds on this forum?
Cheers.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2009, 05:10:44 AM by Baron »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2009, 04:47:36 PM »

Is it the actual code? Because the method is called SkipTo3D (with capital D). And the vertical position is defined by the Y coordinate.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Baron

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2009, 05:15:10 PM »

Thats a good point, I tried it first with the capital D and nothing.
So I tried it with a lower case and the model displayed, I thought that must be right. But then again the engine might just be dumping the model in the middle of the screen.  Darn. Better think this out again. Sorry for the noobishness.

Baron

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2009, 05:40:03 PM »

Aah thanks for the mental kick in the pants. My mistake was in foolishly thinking the 2D co-ordinates I was reading off for the screen position had any relation to the 3D origin. But of course they didnt. Once I stuck it at 0,0,0 I could soon figure it out. Thanks



not much conversation there yet though, back to work. Thanks again.

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2009, 05:42:39 PM »

Cool. I was just about to write that you should also be careful about clipping planes, because if you move the 3D model too near to camera, it (or parts of it) can be clipped away.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

metamorphium

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1511
  • Vampires!
    • View Profile
    • CBE  software s.r.o.
Re: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2009, 05:59:15 PM »

to perfect this method you can use our approach - putting multiple cameras to the hidden geometry and then call Scene.SetActiveCamera to prevent gfx distortions.
Logged
J.U.L.I.A. Enhanced Edition, Vampires!, J.U.L.I.A., J.U.L.I.A. Untold, Ghost in the Sheet

Baron

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Using SkipTo3d can you drop beneath the floor?
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2009, 06:02:52 PM »

Thanks thats a great suggestion. Currently I load a seperate scene. I suspected there was a more elegant way. :)
 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 25 queries.