Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Second actor creation and cutscene  (Read 14755 times)

Indra Anagram

• Occasional poster
  • Periodical returnee
    • View Profile
Second actor creation and cutscene
« on: November 09, 2017, 11:11:38 AM »

Hey Wintermute community,

I am really excited with the chance to finally explore WME and try making the 2D game demo. However, since I am still new to the engine and particularly scripting, I get stuck every now and then. Have got three questions and will try to explain them in a brief and clear way.

This time I tried to add second character named Sally into my scene following WME tutorial. Here is what I did:

1. In "actors" folder created "sally" subfolder and copied files from "molly"
2. In "sally" subfolder renamed "molly.actor" to "sally.actor" and "molly.script" to "sally.script"
3. Opened "molly.actor" file and changed the beginning this way:

Code: [Select]
ACTOR
{
  NAME = "sally"
  CAPTION="Sally"
  SCALABLE = TRUE
  INTERACTIVE = TRUE
  X = 460
  Y = 400
  SCRIPT="actors\sally\sally.script"

Also changed the subfolder name in "sally.actor" from "molly" to "sally" everywhere in animations (idle, walk, talk etc.).

4. Opened "data\scripts\base.inc" and added this:

global molly;
global sally;

5. Opened "game.script" and added new lines. Now the script looks this way:

// load our main actor
actor = Game.LoadActor("actors\molly\molly.actor");
Game.MainObject = actor;
// load our main actor
molly = Game.LoadActor("actors\molly\molly.actor");
sally = Game.LoadActor("actors\sally\sally.actor");
actor = molly;
Game.MainObject = actor;

6. Opened "data/scenes/Room/scr/scene_init.script" and added lines about Sally with her position coordinates from SceneEdit:

#include "scripts\base.inc"

// here comes the stuff which initializes the scene