Wintermute Engine Forum

Wintermute Engine => Technical forum => Topic started by: McCoy on May 21, 2003, 08:37:21 AM

Title: Problem with string tables (maybe a bug?)
Post by: McCoy on May 21, 2003, 08:37:21 AM
When I use a long identifier tag, say:

Code: [Select]
actor.Talk("/Hi, I'm Johnny Knoxville, welcome to Jackass.../Hi, I'm Johnny Knoxville, welcome to Jackass...");

The text appears a lot upper over the head of the actor than without using the identifier. In fact, it happends just like if you has added the same quantity of blank spaces as the identifier, after the text,just like this:

Code: [Select]
actor.Talk("Hi, I'm Johnny Knoxville, welcome to Jackass...                                               ");[/
So I can't use string tables, because I don't like non self-explicative identifiers like molly001, wich are short and not represent any problem at all, but are hard to mantain as the game grow up.

Is this a bug or, as ever, is only me?  ;)

Sorry for my crappy english, I hope that you can understand everything. :-[
Title: Re:Problem with string tables (maybe a bug?)
Post by: Mnemonic on May 22, 2003, 12:25:09 PM
Quote
Is this a bug or, as ever, is only me?  
It seems to be a bug, it shouldn't do that :-( I'll test it.


Quote
I don't like non self-explicative identifiers like molly001, wich are short and not represent any problem at all, but are hard to mantain as the game grow up.
Well, yor approach isn't ideal neither, I'm afraid. The identifiers should be short, mainly for performance reasons, also duplicating the string like this complicates the source code maintaining/readibility too.
You are right about the ID's, but I'm working on improving the string table support. I have a string tale editor under development. I'm writing it in C# by the way, which means 1) it proceeds slowly, 'coz I'm still learning the language ;)  2) the edior will require .NET framework installed to run (I hope no one's gonna accuse me of "relying on technology" again :))
Title: Re:Problem with string tables (maybe a bug?)
Post by: McCoy on May 22, 2003, 12:43:10 PM
oh no! I have Visual Studio 6.0... Well... I think it's time to update  ;D
Title: Re:Problem with string tables (maybe a bug?)
Post by: Mnemonic on May 22, 2003, 01:45:37 PM
You'll only need to install the .NET framework runtime. It shouldn't be a problem, except for the download size (25 megs, I think) :-\
Title: Re:Problem with string tables (maybe a bug?)
Post by: McCoy on May 23, 2003, 08:28:14 AM
cool. Anyway better update it all  ;D