Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: Go To waypoint, rather than Screen X and Y or object  (Read 3965 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

redfox

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Go To waypoint, rather than Screen X and Y or object
« on: November 11, 2007, 05:34:36 PM »

Would it be possible to send the actor to a Waypoint in the 3D Hidden Geom, rather than using the X and Y position of the screen?
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5667
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Go To waypoint, rather than Screen X and Y or object
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2007, 09:09:58 AM »

What do you need it for exactly?
If you know the target point coordinates, there's an actor.GoTo3D(X, Y, Z) method (which somehow didn't make it to the documentation, as it seems...).
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 09:12:37 AM by Mnemonic »
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

redfox

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Go To waypoint, rather than Screen X and Y or object
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2007, 02:03:59 PM »

I will try the actor.GoTo3D(X, Y, Z), thank you for info. It's getting the correct XYZ that's the issue, which is why I thought if I could send the actor to the closest Waypoint it would be good. Can you get the XYZ of a waypoint anyway?

I can then have several cameras in one HG and the actor will approach positions correctly from each screen, rather than having to code an actor GoTo for each screen as I am currently doing.
Logged

redfox

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Go To waypoint, rather than Screen X and Y or object
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2007, 02:19:24 PM »

Can you get the XYZ of a waypoint through Wintermute?
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5667
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Go To waypoint, rather than Screen X and Y or object
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2007, 03:52:17 PM »

You can't, because individual waypoints aren't addressable in any way (they don't have a name or some other id).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
 

Page created in 0.259 seconds with 18 queries.