Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)  (Read 36330 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5666
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« on: October 26, 2008, 05:58:53 PM »

Hello folks,

I'm releasing a WME update to version 1.8.9. I'm marking this release as beta version, because I still need your help testing the widescreen support.


WME 1.8.9 installer download (16MB)

Update from WME 1.8.x to WME 1.8.9 (7MB)


(Note: Saved games are compatible with WME 1.7.2 and later)

Version 1.8.9 beta (December 20, 2008)
  • FIX: Aspect ratio settings were ignored if the settings dialog has been disabled by the user.
  • FIX: When searching for "backup resolution" (when the requested full-screen resolution is not available) monitor aspect ratio is taken into consideration.
  • FIX: Settings dialog was always showing if optimal or backup resolution has been auto-selected.
  • FIX: Rare crash in pathfinding for 3D actors.

Version 1.8.8 (November 15th, 2008)
  • WME now uses nearest higher resolution for full-screen if the originally requested resolution isn't available.
  • The "Use desktop resolution" in game settings dialog can be enabled or disabled in project settings.
  • Updated Theora video library to version 1.0.
  • FIX: Previous beta silently failed if the requested full-screen resolution wasn't available.

Version 1.8.7 (October 26th, 2008)
  • Experimental support for maintaining optimal apect ratio when running normal resolution game on a widescreen monitor and vice versa.
  • New script property Game.SaveDirectory for querying the directory where saved games are stored.
  • FIX: 3D actors sometimes briefly displaying wrong pose when transitioning between animations.
  • FIX: 3D actors not resetting talking animation when talking on other channel than 0.
  • FIX: DropToFloor property incorrectly affecting 3D actor attachments moving them to unexpected positions.
  • FIX: Nested GUI windows displaying in wrong position if their parent window is moved.


This build contains experimental support for widescreen monitors. What does it mean? If you are running a game using "normal" resolution (i.e. resolution with aspect ratio 4:3) on a widescreen (16:9 or 16:10) monitor, the game settings dialog will display a check-box labeled "Maintain aspect ratio". When checked, the engine will not use the original game resolution, but finds a nearest higher resolution with the same aspect ratio as user's monitor (determined by desktop resolution). The game will then display horizontal or vertical (or both) black bars around the game viewport. The point is to prevent stretching of image.

The function works both ways, i.e. running normal resolution game on widescreen monitor and vice versa.

Additionally, there's second check-box, "Use desktop resolution", which allows user to use desktop resolution (typically native resolution for LCD displays) and the game viewport is then centered.


I would like to continue the discussion from this thread. If you were having troubles with the previous test build, please try this new beta. It writes more detailed information to wme.log file. Also it's a bit more tolerant and is able to use 16:9 and 16:10 resolutions interchangeably.

Please post your observations in this thread. Thank you.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2009, 04:57:46 PM by Mnemonic »
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Matt Groening

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2008, 04:05:16 PM »

Hello.
1. How I can delete "Use desktop resolution" from Start Window?

2. My thoughts about "Use desktop resolution".
My game has 1024х768 screen. I have monitor with 1280x1024 resolution.
If I play my game in fullscreen then 1024х768 game screen strech to 1280х1024.
If I play my game in fullscreen and with "Use desktop screen" then game has 1024x768 (!!!) screen and black rectangles up, down, left and right (!!!). And I consider that 1024х768 game screen must strech to 1280х960 (correct aspect ratio) and has black rectangles up and down.
If I want play my game in 1024x768 resolution, I will play in windowed mode.
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1454
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2008, 04:50:03 PM »

As far as I understand it, this second option is for troubleshooting reasons. If for whatever reason the first option doesn't work (wme can't find a resolution - it's depends on the gpu drivers) then the second option will be able to run the game fullscreen without distortion (with or without bars, it depends on the game's and monitor's resolution). Similar options are in the gpu drivers and I find them very useful.
Logged
fl*p

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5666
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2008, 04:56:45 PM »

As for 1280x1024, it's considered a "normal" resolution and is used interchangeably with 4:3 resolutions. The distortion isn't too big. This function is only intended to handle widescreen resolutions.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Matt Groening

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2008, 05:01:25 PM »

If I use Game.FileExists(Game.SaveDirectory) then in log:
WARNING: Referencing absolute path 'C:\Documents and Settings\USER\My Documents\GAME'. The game will NOT work on another computer.
Logged

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Widescreen support
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2008, 06:30:58 PM »

Hello!

I created a Game with the 16:9 resolution 1366x768 in the Game Settings. When I startup the game in fullscrenn with "Use Desktop Resolution" checked, I've got black borders all around the scene.

If I don't check "Use Desktop Resolution" the Game wont start, here's the log:


18:21: ********** DEBUG LOG OPENED 27-10-2008 (Release Build) *****************
18:21: Wintermute Engine ver 1.8.7beta, Compiled on Oct 26 2008, 17:07:22
18:21: Platform: Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Build 2600)
18:21: DirectX version: 9.0
18:21:
18:21: Scanning packages...
18:21:   Registered 0 files in 0 package(s)
18:21: Initializing scripting engine...
18:21:   Script compiler bound successfuly
18:21: Loading plugins...
18:21:   wme_advshadow.dll
18:21:   wme_sample_pixel.dll
18:21:   wme_snow.dll
18:21: Loading string table...
18:21:   49 strings loaded
18:21: Enumerating Direct3D devices...
18:21: Enumerating DirectSound devices...
18:21: Game aspect ratio:    1.778646
18:21: Monitor aspect ratio: 1.600000
18:21: Game aspect ratio is the same as monitor aspect ratio.
18:21: Available video devices:
18:21:   NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT  (accelerated)
18:21:     Driver: nv4_disp.dll 6.14.11.7813
18:21:     Monitor: 0
18:21: Available audio devices:
18:21:   Primärer Soundtreiber
18:21:   Realtek HD Audio output
18:21:   [no sound]
18:21:
18:21: User selected:
18:21:   Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT  (accelerated)
18:21:          Windowed:no  Colors:32bit  T&L:no  Multisample:0
18:21:   Audio: Primärer Soundtreiber
18:21: Error initializing renderer. Exiting.
       returned: E_FAIL
18:21:
18:21: Shutting down...
18:21: Shutting down scripting engine
18:21: ********** DEBUG LOG CLOSED ********************************************


Sincerly,

Spellbreaker
Logged

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2008, 08:02:10 PM »

Changed to 1280x800


Same problem



20:00: ********** DEBUG LOG OPENED 27-10-2008 (Release Build) *****************
20:00: Wintermute Engine ver 1.8.7beta, Compiled on Oct 26 2008, 17:07:22
20:00: Platform: Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Build 2600)
20:00: DirectX version: 9.0
20:00:
20:00: Scanning packages...
20:00:   Registered 0 files in 0 package(s)
20:00: Initializing scripting engine...
20:00:   Script compiler bound successfuly
20:00: Loading plugins...
20:00:   wme_advshadow.dll
20:00:   wme_sample_pixel.dll
20:00:   wme_snow.dll
20:00: Loading string table...
20:00:   49 strings loaded
20:00: Enumerating Direct3D devices...
20:00: Enumerating DirectSound devices...
20:00: Game aspect ratio:    1.600000
20:00: Monitor aspect ratio: 1.600000
20:00: Game aspect ratio is the same as monitor aspect ratio.
20:00: Available video devices:
20:00:   NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT  (accelerated)
20:00:     Driver: nv4_disp.dll 6.14.11.7813
20:00:     Monitor: 0
20:00: Available audio devices:
20:00:   Primärer Soundtreiber
20:00:   Realtek HD Audio output
20:00:   [no sound]
20:00:
20:00: User selected:
20:00:   Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT  (accelerated)
20:00:          Windowed:no  Colors:32bit  T&L:no  Multisample:0
20:00:   Audio: Primärer Soundtreiber
20:00: Error initializing renderer. Exiting.
       returned: E_FAIL
20:00:
20:00: Shutting down...
20:00: Shutting down scripting engine
20:00: ********** DEBUG LOG CLOSED ********************************************
Logged

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2008, 11:10:26 PM »

So know the problem was tracked down that my screen does not support the 1280x800 resolution.

So the behavior I would like from WME is that then the next greater resolution will be choosen. For example, if WME gets 1280x900 from DX as valid, WME should use that and leave 50px black border on top/bottom.


Logged

warmblood

  • Supporter
  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2008, 12:46:41 AM »


I have a problem with the following setup (also others, but this is enough to show the problem):

- Scene is 1680x1050
- Screen is 1680x1050
- Game startup resolution is 1400x900

If I check Use desktop resolution, it works fine.
However, if I uncheck use desktop resolution - the game does not start, and there is no error message. If I have debug turned on always, the debug window comes up and then goes away before displaying any text.


Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5666
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.7 (October 26, 2008)
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2008, 09:21:21 AM »

Yes, there's a bug. If the requested resolution isn't available for full-screen mode, WME still allows you to go full-screen and then silently fails. The suggested solution to find nearest higher resolution should fix that for most cases. If no suitable full-screen resolution is found, only windowed mode will be available (that's how it worked before).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5666
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.8 (November 15, 2008)
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2008, 03:58:57 PM »

I just released WME 1.8.8 for more testing. Thanks for your feedback!

It would be nice to hear from people having troubles with the original beta, such as Stucki (problems with dual monitors) and DocBass (the aspect ratio check-box not showing at all).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.8 (November 15, 2008)
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2008, 10:02:39 PM »

Hi there!

Now for the first time fullscreen is working for me, just one question: I set up the game in 1280x800 . WME then chooses 1280x960, since it's available on my gfx-card. But the game uses the full width without border left / right, which makes my chars looking quite big ;). Any way to avoid that?

Sincerly,

Spellbreaker
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5666
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.8 (November 15, 2008)
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2008, 10:16:48 PM »

I don't understand the question. It seems natural that there are no left/right borders if 1280x960 is used instead of 1280x800.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.8 (November 15, 2008)
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2008, 10:35:10 PM »

The problem is, that WME chooses 1280x960 as next-fitting resolution for widescreen, but it's a 4:3 resolution, so the image is distorted of course.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5666
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.8 (November 15, 2008)
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2008, 06:45:14 PM »

Right now it uses *any* higher resolution it finds, and ignores aspect ratio.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
 

Page created in 0.179 seconds with 17 queries.