Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Author Topic: how works dcscomp.dll  (Read 4788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lacosaweb

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
how works dcscomp.dll
« on: September 30, 2009, 04:17:16 PM »

Hi, I'm studying the possibility to export WME to other platforms like iPhone and Linux to compile our games in these platforms but I see that dcscomp.dll compile the scripts. This dll I think that would be compile the scripts in win32 platform and the sourcecode of this dll is not distributed with the wme sourcecode.

I think that it's not possible to export the wme games to other platforms if dcscomp.dll compile in win32 code.
Jan, it's true? Why?
I'll need the sourcecode of dcscomp.dll to compile the scripts in each platform.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5667
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: how works dcscomp.dll
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2009, 09:06:08 AM »

The script compiler compiles the script to bytecode. The bytecode is then executed by the engine and it's platform independent (it's not actual machine code). That means, the compiled game doesn't need the DLL (notice that compiled wme games don't even contain the file), because the scripts are pre-compiled by ProjectMan.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

jjsteele

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: how works dcscomp.dll
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2009, 05:55:01 PM »

CAn wme_comp produce compiled output? There seems to be an -output parameter, but I can't seem to get it to work.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5667
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: how works dcscomp.dll
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2009, 01:05:06 PM »

wme_comp.exe can output compiled *scripts*. But it's not really useful for anything IMO, the tool is primarily used for script syntax checking in text editors.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

jjsteele

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: how works dcscomp.dll
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2009, 11:06:50 AM »

What is the format for getting these outputs, I have tried all ways but nothing ever appears.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 39
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5667
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: how works dcscomp.dll
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2009, 11:18:50 AM »

Well, what the help says:

Code: [Select]
wme_comp.exe -script "C:\Program Files (x86)\WME DevKit\projects\wme_demo_3d\data\scripts\scene.script" -project "C:\Program Files (x86)\WME DevKit\projects\wme_demo_3d\wme_demo_3d.wpr" -output C:\
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

jjsteele

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: how works dcscomp.dll
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2009, 11:52:54 AM »

Ahh, I wasn't using the full path, just relatve ones.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.164 seconds with 18 queries.