Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: My 3D actor isn't showing up  (Read 1790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Barry Burton

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
My 3D actor isn't showing up
« on: April 18, 2012, 02:31:03 AM »

I'm using the 3D demo as an example and created my own 3D actor in 3DS Max and exported it as an .X file (no animations yet, just wanted to test it.) But the 3D model isn't appearing in my scene... Trinity works fine on my custom scenes with my custom geometry made in 3DS Max, so I know it has nothing to do with the scenes itself. Yet, my custom 3D actor isn't showing up. It's just a shadow I see in game.

In the preview pane the model also looks completely distorted too with neon red glowing around it.

Yet in Ultimate Unwrap 3D the 3D model loads fine.

Logged

Spellbreaker

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
    • Apeiron Studios
Re: My 3D actor isn't showing up
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 04:32:26 PM »

Maybe you can give us access to the .X and .actor3d files to take a look at?
Logged

piere

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 299
  • Sorry for any bad english in my posts. Game on !
    • View Profile
Re: My 3D actor isn't showing up
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 01:19:10 AM »

What I did when I had 3d actor issues is just to make a basic sphere in 3DS max and export that as the .X and as the main actor in WME. If it works, then its an issue with the character, maybe his texture. If that doesn't work, then check your Max and Pandasoft options. Doing this should help be more accurate identifying the cause of the issue. Let me know if you need any help, feel free to PM me.
Logged

binary1

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: My 3D actor isn't showing up
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2012, 04:31:36 AM »

I can't see your picture very well but on my screen, the actor looks very small.  I've had problems with models that were the wrong size (change the scale setting in the actor definition file) or they were not at the origin when they were exported.  I followed the settings that were given in the tutorial on the resources page for exporting .x from 3ds Max.  What version of Max are you using?
Logged
 

Page created in 0.138 seconds with 17 queries.