Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Author Topic: Source Code for a Word Puzzle  (Read 7234 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Catacomber

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 443
  • I love mice.
    • View Profile
    • Catacomber.com
Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« on: August 06, 2009, 02:43:03 AM »

Here is my demo with source code for newbies to WME or scripting for a Word Puzzle. It includes using a particle maker and an overlay.  Overlays are cool.  You just have to remember to check the box that makes an object "interactive" or your overlay will be dead.  : )  How many times I have forgotten this.  In fact, I wish it were the default that the object is interactive.

To open the puzzle layer, tap on the alien.  Wait a short bit for her to open the puzzle layer. I put in a delay.  The layer is opened via her dialogue.

When you are finished and want to know if you got the word right, tap on the circle up top.  It will turn into a mushroom if you're right.  Also, the alien will tell you if you are right if you tap on her again after you close the puzzle layer.

There is a heavy clue at the beginning.  If you're not right, nothing will happen when you tap on the circle up top.   

There is code to reshuffle the letters when you leave the puzzle layer by clicking on the X.  This isn't really necessary, because you can still slide the letters around till you get it right.

If you're not right, tap on her again, she'll open the puzzle again.

This has a first person actor mode.

Thanks to The Derman for the code to slide the letters.  Thanks to Mnemonic for everything else.  :  )
Thanks to Maze for reminding me of X's and Y's through an old post he's probably forgotten.  :  )


http://www.box.net/shared/99sq018t45
« Last Edit: August 07, 2009, 02:03:16 AM by Catacomber »
Logged
http://www.catacomber.com/
Code: WME Script
  1. Mnemonic is wonderful.
  2.  

AmneziA

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2010, 12:02:24 PM »

I can not load a file. check link please!
Logged

design3d

  • Sci-Fi fan
  • Supporter
  • Regular poster
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 156
  • I, Driller :)
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2010, 12:15:07 PM »

I can not load a file. check link please!
The link works fine for me  :-\
Logged

Catacomber

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 443
  • I love mice.
    • View Profile
    • Catacomber.com
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 03:16:30 AM »

I've had over 200 downloads so I think the link is working fine.  :  )  Hope it's helpful.  If there is any problem, let me know and I will tweak something. '

At least one thank you would be appreciated.  :  )
Logged
http://www.catacomber.com/
Code: WME Script
  1. Mnemonic is wonderful.
  2.  

design3d

  • Sci-Fi fan
  • Supporter
  • Regular poster
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 156
  • I, Driller :)
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2010, 08:11:15 AM »

I just checked the link but thanks for sharing the code!   ::thumbup
Logged

Catacomber

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 443
  • I love mice.
    • View Profile
    • Catacomber.com
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2010, 04:42:25 AM »

Thanks. I'm doing mostly iphone programming now in 2.5d but what I learned here has helped me more immensely than I can say. Mnemonic and Wintermute basically taught me how to put a game together from start to finish and to use graphics and sound and video and so many things, even the tiniest thing about changing the game's icon to yours.  : )  I will come back once I have 3d graphics nailed down.  : )
Logged
http://www.catacomber.com/
Code: WME Script
  1. Mnemonic is wonderful.
  2.  

AmneziA

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2010, 04:53:32 AM »

it work. Thanks!  ::thumbup
Logged

plobone

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2012, 08:15:30 PM »

EDIT: Ok I fixed it!! :)


Hello there!!

I know that this is an old topic but I've just download the word puzzle
and wanted to check it out in a puzzle that I make with new graphics.

Soooo I made all the necessary changes but instead of using
.jpg format for the sprites and square shaped tablets for my letters
I've used .png format for the sprites because my letters are in circle shape.....

And nothing works correct...I can pick up a letter, but I can't place it in any slot or drop it down.
When I convert my letters in .jpg format the puzzle works just fine....

It has something to do with the alpha and the transarency?
I've checked the manual of wme and supports .png files ....
I have to change something in the script so wme can understand that my sprite has transparency?

Thank you very much!
and thanks for the code Catacomber! :)
« Last Edit: January 17, 2012, 10:21:17 PM by plobone »
Logged

K. Janeway

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2015, 11:46:43 AM »

I know this is an old thread, but hopefully someone can help me.
As a newbie, I thought I'd try to use this puzzle in my game. I copied all the codes for the letters and such, and it looks like it might work, but when I click on a letter, there's no way to release it.
I used the graphics that were already in the zip-file, but I haven't copied all of the code, since I'm not sure what is important.
By that I mean that I already have a lot of codes in my games.script, and I don't know what exactly needs to be put in there from this one, if you know what I mean.
Hopefully, I just missed something basic, that is usually the case when something is new and har to understand.  :)
Logged

eborr

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Source Code for a Word Puzzle
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2015, 11:50:05 PM »

Can I suggest you park this project and go back and work you way through the Wintermute book, you can find this under the help option in the main menu it's within the WME documentation.

Once you have gone through that, then revisit this project and I am sure much more of it will make sense
Logged
 

Page created in 0.275 seconds with 18 queries.