Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)  (Read 59218 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DocBass

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #45 on: January 05, 2009, 03:56:52 PM »

Oops I guess I see something weird right off, should have looked at that earlier.  :o

Not sure why it would be saying the aspect ratios are the same, or why that would cause it to remove the choice...
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #46 on: January 05, 2009, 04:47:56 PM »

Oh well, WME assumes both the game and the monitor are widescreen... which is true... therefore it doesn't display the check-box.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Matt Groening

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #47 on: January 06, 2009, 07:10:33 AM »

Can you add text line when the 'Maintain aspect ratio' appears?
In the text " 'Maintain aspect ratio' can work incorrectly in some widscreen" or other text.

I have some notebooks (with widescreen) on which 'Maintain aspect ratio' works incorrectly and sometimes Fullscreen works incorrectly.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #48 on: January 06, 2009, 08:31:42 AM »

If you try setting this resolution as your desktop resolution, you're seeing the same problem?
Spawn, I still would like to hear an answer to my question.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Matt Groening

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #49 on: January 06, 2009, 02:18:26 PM »

Spawn: I don't understand you. If you try setting this resolution as your desktop resolution, you're seeing the same problem?

If I try 1280x768 resolution as desktop resolution then I have this problem(strech screen and move right) with 'Maintain aspect ratio'.
Logged

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #50 on: January 06, 2009, 02:58:57 PM »

Spawn: I don't understand you. If you try setting this resolution as your desktop resolution, you're seeing the same problem?

If I try 1280x768 resolution as desktop resolution then I have this problem(strech screen and move right) with 'Maintain aspect ratio'.

But your desktop itself (NOT WME!) looks normal at this resolution?
Logged
Mooh!

DocBass

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #51 on: January 07, 2009, 10:52:59 AM »

Oh well, WME assumes both the game and the monitor are widescreen... which is true... therefore it doesn't display the check-box.

Yeah but they don't have the same aspect ratios. What's weird is that it DID work initially a few times, then went away completely. So will a 16:9 image always be stretched to a 16:10?
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #52 on: January 07, 2009, 11:12:20 AM »

Yes, this function was primarily designed to allow proper display of 4:3 games on wide screens and widescreen games on 4:3 monitors. It considers 16:9 and 16:10 equivalent.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

DocBass

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #53 on: January 08, 2009, 11:39:23 PM »

Yes, this function was primarily designed to allow proper display of 4:3 games on wide screens and widescreen games on 4:3 monitors. It considers 16:9 and 16:10 equivalent.

Hmm ok...that's so odd that it worked initially then? Could we put that in as a feature request to differentiate the two?  ;D
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #54 on: January 09, 2009, 12:04:53 AM »

Funny thing, it was a feature request to treat both AR (16:9 & 16:10) as the same because this makes the whole "maintain AR" to work in a wider range of gpu/monitors. The problem is on many gpu/monitors combinations wme can't find a matching resolution if this feature is disabled and thus it can only run on windowed mode (and that's not a wme issue but a hardware/drivers limitation). As I see it, the benefit is larger with a not so big distortion that none, except the developer and some graphic artist, will notice. Perhaps, a solution would be to make this as another troubleshooting option but then the not knowledgeable with AR matters user will get overly confused.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 12:09:32 AM by odnorf »
Logged
fl*p

Erwin_Br

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #55 on: January 09, 2009, 07:09:20 PM »

People should just buy a normal panel for their PC and watch movies on a TV panel. Jeez!  :-X
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #56 on: January 09, 2009, 08:39:52 PM »

Normal widescreen PC panels have an 1.6 AR (1920x1200, 1680x1050, 1280x800). Anything else is rarely used so, afaik if you design your game to run at 1.6 you have covered almost all widescreen monitors and most 4:3 monitors  (since 1280x800 is available to most of them).
Logged
fl*p

Birdline

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Birdline Web Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #57 on: January 10, 2009, 10:14:26 AM »

Normal widescreen PC panels have an 1.6 AR (1920x1200, 1680x1050, 1280x800). Anything else is rarely used so, afaik if you design your game to run at 1.6 you have covered almost all widescreen monitors and most 4:3 monitors  (since 1280x800 is available to most of them).
Yes odnorf, I thought so too and this is why I choose 1280X800, but this does not work.
As Mnemonic confirmed, the only way to have fullscreen, is the game resolution to be in the list seen by the DX utility he posted.
So, running this to different systems (nvidia, ati) gives different lists. But there was nowhere the 1280X800.
For nvidia the closest is 1600X900, for ati is 1280X720, so I can't have fullscreen.
(for nvidia I managed to "have" this 1280X800 and play at fullscreen by manually add it to the driver, but this is not a global solution)

Given the facts:
1. I can't know the list of valid resolutions (except my own system using the DX utility),
2. This list depends on the video card / monitor combination,
How can I decide a proper average game resolution?  ???
This is a mess
(may be I should ask about this in an other post alone)

Spyros

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #58 on: January 10, 2009, 11:03:28 AM »

@Birdline

I'm afraid there is not much you/we can do. :( This is a driver issue and not a wme related one. I find it strange that with ati gpu you can't find the proper 1280x800 resolution available nowhere. Latest ati catalyst drivers here offer this resolution at a 4:3 monitor.
Logged
fl*p

Birdline

  • Supporter
  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Birdline Web Site
Re: Latest beta: WME 1.8.9 (December 20, 2008)
« Reply #59 on: January 10, 2009, 12:48:01 PM »

Yes I know that odnorf. In one of my systems I do have a 4:3 CRT monitor and I have no problems there (with either ati or nvidia).
But I am talking only for the wide screen monitors,
which are the most popular nowdays (and I'm afraid the only available in near future).

Spyros
(BTW, greetings from Athens  :) )
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
 

Page created in 0.044 seconds with 20 queries.