Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: 3d actor slides before walking normally  (Read 4265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rkitting

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
3d actor slides before walking normally
« on: July 08, 2008, 01:52:27 PM »

I have a 3d actor made in Max and exported with Panda to a nick_walk.x file that looks normal and shows a fluid walk movement from beginning to end (83 frames).
Tried changing Velocity but didn't make sliding go away. When clicking to walk he slides for 1 second before continuing with animation.

We are at a loss at the moment :) Any help appreciated. Here is act3d file:

Code: [Select]
ACTOR3DX
{
  NAME = "nick"
  INTERACTIVE = TRUE
  ACTIVE = TRUE
  SCRIPT = "actors\nick\nick.script"
  SHADOW_IMAGE = "actors\nick\shadow.png"
  SHADOW_SIZE = 12.0
  LIGHT_POSITION { -40, 200, -40 }
  SHADOW_TYPE = "stencil"

  SCALE = 160
 
  FONT = "fonts\vera.font"

  ;--- velocity
  VELOCITY = 65
 
  ANGULAR_VELOCITY = 400.0

  ;--- external data
MODEL = "actors\nick\nick.x"
MODEL = "actors\nick\nick_walk.x"
 

  ANIMATION
  {
NAME="idle"
LOOPING=TRUE
  }
 
  ANIMATION
  {
    NAME="walk"
    LOOPING=TRUE
  }

}
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: 3d actor slides before walking normally
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 06:20:25 PM »

Hmm, did you change the animation transition time by any chance? Either the general one (actor.AnimTransitionTime) or the idle-walk transition (actor.SetAnimTransitionTime()).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

rkitting

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: 3d actor slides before walking normally
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 07:08:37 PM »

These functions aren't being used.
But as I tested with actor.SetAnimTransitionTime("idle", "walk", 0); it works normally.

Just strange it doesn't work without this call. It seems to default to 500 (1/2 a second), but returns -1 with GetAnimTransitionTime.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2008, 07:12:35 PM by rkitting »
Logged

rkitting

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: 3d actor slides before walking normally
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2008, 07:24:47 PM »

Hmm maybe it could also be because the "idle" Animation is at the time temporarily using the 1st frame of the "walk" Animation, which is with knee bent and one foot up. Will have the animator test this out.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: 3d actor slides before walking normally
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2008, 07:29:14 PM »

Yup, I guess that's it. The engine does transition from idle to walk, which is actually the same pose, so the sliding is very apparent during the transition.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

piere

  • Supporter
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 301
  • Sorry for any bad english in my posts. Game on !
    • View Profile
Re: 3d actor slides before walking normally
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 12:57:01 AM »

Hello Im sorry to bring up this old topic, but I am have the same issue, only it is occurring during the walking animation. When it loops, there is a pause for a second then it plays the animation again when the character is walking. The animation frames play and loop perfect in 3DS max, but in WME I am having this issue, and this solution in this thread does not work. I tried actor.SetAnimTransitionTime("walk", "walk", 0); as well as actor.AnimTransitionTime = 0; and still no luck. Anyone else have this issue? It is weird because the the idle animation loops perfectly.

Update: I have made the walking animation the idle animation and it works that way so its not a problem with my animation, but there seems to be an issue with the walking animation is handled when it loops into the next walk. If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it !
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 01:12:35 AM by piagent »
Logged
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 23 queries.