Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)  (Read 5398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HelLRaiseR

  • I don't want to make a Monkey Island clone :(
  • Wiki editor
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Box Studios
Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« on: December 02, 2008, 07:55:03 PM »

I have a new problem with my actor. Whe I use this in the game, wintermute show several vertex that don't exist in the mesh (I've checked this several times), and the shadow use this non existent vertex. Additionally, the shadow don´t respect the geometry. but the .3ds file is correct.

I've checked the model with several programs and the visualization is good, the model can see correct with fragMOTION and Deep exploration and don´t see correct with the DirectX viewer, but I think that this isn´t a problem, becouse several models of the Panda webpage and Trinity, cannot see ok with the DirectX viewer, (the actor "Victor" can see OK with this viewer)

I attach images of the model in  MAX, FragMOTION and  Deep Exploration, and a image of the model in the game.

The model in fragMOTION, Deep Exploration and 3DS MAX




The model in the wintermute game. You can see the non existent vertex and the bad shadow, and that the shadow don´t use the geometry.



When you can see, the geometry work OK with the actor Victor



Logged
Regards,

    Fernando

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2008, 08:00:55 PM »

When exporting with Panda, disable the "optimize mesh" option. It seems to produce those rogue vertices sometime.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

HelLRaiseR

  • I don't want to make a Monkey Island clone :(
  • Wiki editor
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Box Studios
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2008, 08:20:28 PM »

Thanks Mnemonic. If I choose "None" in the "Optimze mesh" option, the non existent vertex disappear, but the the problem with the shadow an the geometry continues.


« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 08:26:25 PM by HelLRaiseR »
Logged
Regards,

    Fernando

HelLRaiseR

  • I don't want to make a Monkey Island clone :(
  • Wiki editor
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Box Studios
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2008, 09:03:59 PM »

Sorry, the shadow works ok with the geometry. The unique problem is that the shadow not is corresponding with the actor



Logged
Regards,

    Fernando

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 10:09:10 PM »

It's not? You can try changing the light position to get different results.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Beastlord

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 11:59:48 PM »

Yes, it´s corresponding, but we got a lot of flickering and holes in the shadow (here in the images you can´t appreciate it as we see in the engine).

I think that could be because our model has 5000 polys, and that could mean in error when calculating the shadows, but we try with The Doctor X model (on the Panda website) that has 9000 polys and its shadow its perfect and clean.

We don´t know what could be.

Thanks for your help.
Logged

Beastlord

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2008, 12:14:50 AM »

Sorry, you were right.

Moving the light so far we got good shadows.

Thankyou very much for you help
Logged

HelLRaiseR

  • I don't want to make a Monkey Island clone :(
  • Wiki editor
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Box Studios
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2008, 01:07:39 AM »

OK. Now, I understand why Trinity, Victor and DoctorX has the correct shadows. Our actor size is about 10 times greather than others. When I use victor or trinity, I change the scale to 100 or 120%, but when I use my own model, the scale is about 15%, but I don't change the values for actor.SetLightPosition method  in the scene script.

I will make a test tomorrow (today is too late in Spain ;)

Thank you very much.
Logged
Regards,

    Fernando

HelLRaiseR

  • I don't want to make a Monkey Island clone :(
  • Wiki editor
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Box Studios
Re: Problem with shadow or mesh (I,m not sure)
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2008, 09:45:14 PM »

Works fine. The problem has been the incorrect SetLigthPosition values.

Thanks.
Logged
Regards,

    Fernando
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 19 queries.