Wintermute Engine Forum

Wintermute Engine => Technical forum => Topic started by: Adventure-Macher on January 07, 2011, 06:05:19 PM

Title: actors
Post by: Adventure-Macher on January 07, 2011, 06:05:19 PM
Hi,

I start developing with this engine. First I learn about the engine in the tutorial.
Now I try something. I made a few rooms and script, that the player get into another room, when moving to areas, which are "linked" with scripts.
That works fine. But in all new rooms, without the main/first one, I didn't see the character?!
When I am placing it in the other rooms, there is no changing and there is still no character. What is the mistake?

Best
Title: Re: actors
Post by: Andrej (Blue Arc) on January 07, 2011, 07:01:48 PM
Please see your scene_init.script and be sure there is a lineactor.Active = true; If there is, the next problem can be that you actor is skipped out of scene.
Title: Re: actors
Post by: Adventure-Macher on January 07, 2011, 07:16:44 PM
in all scenes-directorys in the subdir, there is the line "actor.Active = true", in the scene_init.script.
What did you mean, that the actor is skipped out of the scene?

Another question to actors: Will it be possible, that I can control the actor additional with the cursor-keys?
Title: Re: actors
Post by: Jose on January 08, 2011, 11:56:47 AM
Normally in the scene_init.script you have a line like

Code: [Select]
actor.SkipTo(X, Y);

If coordinates X and Y fall out of the scene then you can't see the actor.
Title: Re: actors
Post by: Adventure-Macher on January 10, 2011, 05:20:53 PM
Ahhh, it works.
Ok. Thanks.

Another question, regarding thes fixed issue:
Normaly, the character stands each time I enter the screen on the defined position. Ok.
But what can I do, If I can enter the image from different directions? For example:

Room 1   -   Room 2
    |                |
Room 3   -   Room 4

I can enter for example Room 2, by going from Room 1 or Room 4 into it. So the Character should also stay on another position...
Title: Re: actors
Post by: odnorf on January 10, 2011, 05:37:18 PM
Game.PrevScene(); will return the name of the previous scene so it's just a matter of if-then.

I suggest you to follow the tutorial of the docs and also the detailed online tutorial available at wme wiki. Trying to learn wme with a trial & error approach will be time consuming.