Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: 3D actor not loading  (Read 5996 times)

binary1

• Supporter
  • Occasional poster
    • View Profile
3D actor not loading
« on: February 25, 2012, 09:47:21 AM »

There is probably a simple solution but I'm stumped.  I'm just learning how to use 3D models with the engine.  I've looked through the documentation and played with the 3d demo.  I created a new scene using the demo as a model.  I made the geometry file in Cinema 4d and exported it as .3ds.  Everything looked ok but the actor didn't load.  Next, I tried adding the Front scene to the project.  The actor loads fine in that scene.  Then, I tried adding another scene using the files from the demo.  As far as I can tell, all the nodes are the same as the demo.  I used the 3d demo's geometry files in addition to all the other files.  But the actor doesn't load.  All three scenes are in the same project.  The game script is loading the actor (actor = Game.LoadActor3D("actors\trinity\trinity.act3d");) and I've tried different locations to use for placing the actor in the scene script.  I can add Molly without any problem.  Does anyone have any idea what I might be doing wrong?  Thanks.

Mnemonic

• WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: 3D actor not loading
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 10:03:18 AM »

A couple of things to check, 1) the scale of your scene geometry - perhaps it's very different from the demo so the actor is very small/very big 2) the walk plane - if you used a simple plane, make sure it's not upside down.

Additionally, do you see the geometry properly in SceneEdit? SceneEdit allows you to place the actor in the scene and move it with your mouse. So try experimenting with this function.
Yes, I do have a twitter account