Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: Hidden Object Game  (Read 5604 times)

anheric

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Hidden Object Game
« on: November 20, 2011, 08:49:46 PM »

First of all, since this is my first post hello to all fellow developers/enthusiasts here  ;D

I'm trying to make a Hidden Object Game(HOG) and I'm seriously stuck.
I'm very new to javascript (although I used jquery library very very much for the websites I build at work) but it seems my logic != javascript :P
I already found a forum where they discuss how a guy did a HOG and they share another source code of a game, but is 300MB and is downloaded at 14ks/s... *sad face*... i will start downloading it again tonight..
Ohh and the forum ( http://molier-artstudo.ucoz.ru/forum/9-125-1 )is in Russian so i rely on google translate QQ

Basically I'm trying to make simple function that when an entity/image is clicked, hide it and remove it from a list of objects(entities/images)
So if im correct I need :
a) a list of variables : the items
b) a place on bottom of the game where the list of items will reside and will each item will be removed/erased from the list when found. - (inventory??)
c) a function that will activate onClick and that will make the image hide
d) a randomizer that will pick 20 items the list of variables to be found each time we enter a scene of hidden objects

Ok I'm not asking of anyone to make the game for me - that would be a joke..
Still if anyone can point me the way or tell me how this is possible (maybe if any can share a source so i can understand the logic behind this -that would be overkill but still :D ) So please if anyone did/does a hidden object game, share your secrets with me ?!^^

I read and finished the tutorial successfully so i know at least the basics in wintermute.