Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: skip talk, without selecting activeObject  (Read 5067 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rocco

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Virtual-Illusion
skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« on: February 28, 2006, 05:45:49 PM »

i have this code:

[code]on "RightRelease"
{
   Game.SetActiveCursor("sprites\system\rune2_ro.sprite");
   // what did we click
   if(Game.SelectedItem!=null)
   {
      Game.SelectedItem = null;         // deselect an attached item
   }
   else
   {
   var ActObject = Game.ActiveObject;
« Last Edit: February 28, 2006, 09:55:30 PM by Rocco »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2006, 08:15:10 PM »

Hm, it does so even if the game is in non-interactive mode? The dialogue mouse-skipping only works if Game.Interactive = false;
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Rocco

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Virtual-Illusion
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2006, 09:08:25 PM »

yes i have overloaded the talk method, so i can use the skip function or disable it

Code: [Select]
method Talk(var txt,var soundfile,var duration, var stances, var alignement, var skip)
{
if (skip)
this.Talk(txt,soundfile,duration,stances,alignement);
else
{
Game.Interactive = false;
this.Talk(txt,soundfile,duration,stances,alignement);
Game.Interactive = true;
}
}

maybe i can use a controlvariable for this.
and mnemonic have you an idea for this -> http://forum.dead-code.org/index.php?topic=1385.0
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2006, 09:49:43 PM »

I think the problem is you're using the RightRelease event. So, you right-click, the Click event skips the line, the game becames interactive again, hence it handles the subsequent Release event.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Rocco

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Virtual-Illusion
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2006, 09:55:01 PM »

yes, cause i have another rollover graphic for the click event:

Code: [Select]
Game.SetActiveCursor("sprites\system\rune_RO_look.sprite");
and on release the graphic releases also ( i updated the function above)
i guess a controlvarible can do the trick. i give it a try.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2006, 09:57:16 PM by Rocco »
Logged

Rocco

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Virtual-Illusion
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2006, 04:05:42 PM »

it works with the control variable, but the next problem is when the player dont skip the text,
then it needs 1 click to reset the variable and to play on.
so i must know if the player had the skipped the text or not, is this possible??

EDIT: IsTalking is also not possible, cause when the klick event is processed the talking is already skipped, right?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2006, 04:07:15 PM by Rocco »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2006, 08:25:15 AM »

so i must know if the player had the skipped the text or not, is this possible??
No, it's not possible. Is it really necessary to divide the functionality into both RightClick and RightRelease? Wouldn't it be possible to put everything into the RightClick handler? It would solve this problem, I think.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Rocco

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Virtual-Illusion
Re: skip talk, without selecting activeObject
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2006, 03:42:02 PM »

ok, this aren't good news for me.
i have a two klick interface now, left klick -> use, right klick -> look.
so i have only 1 cursor, and for easier gameplay i create an use and look cursor.
but they only come up when the player press the mouse (left mouse -> use icon) (right icon -> look icon)
and when the mouse is released the standard cursor is coming up.
and i dont want to cancel this funtionality.
I must find a workaround for this. 
Logged
 

Page created in 0.029 seconds with 23 queries.