Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9  (Read 3754 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« on: December 11, 2009, 02:41:59 PM »

Hey,

I have a problrem with Jackie's shadow when moving from using WME in DX8 to DX9.

When using DX9, the shadow model is always in t-pose as if the bones and skin isn't applied to it.
it works ok in DX8 in WME 1.8.10 but when changing it to DX9 or moving to WME 1.9.0 it behaves like this.

here is a screenshot

and the .X file
http://pizza-morgana.com/beta/Jackie_shadow.X

any ideas why is this happening or who to fix it?

Oded
Logged

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2009, 02:42:40 PM »

I'll also add that the shadow models looks ok in both MView and DXViewer.exe
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2009, 02:54:04 PM »

Are you perhaps using a different model for the shadow? (the SHADOW_MODEL in actor definition)

EDIT: You are, right? The shadow model *must* use exactly the same bone structure as the main model. If it doesn't, you'll get this.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2009, 02:59:10 PM by Mnemonic »
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2009, 03:41:57 PM »

it uses the exact same bone structure

here are the relevant lines from the .ACT3D file:

 
Code: [Select]
SCRIPT = "actors\Jackie\Jackie.script"
  SHADOW_IMAGE = "actors\Jackie\shadow.png"
  SHADOW_SIZE = 25.0
  LIGHT_POSITION { -80, 500, -80 }
  SHADOW_TYPE = "flat"
  SHADOW_COLOR { 0, 0, 0, 128 }
 

...
...


  ;--- external data
  MODEL = "actors\Jackie\Jackie6_cm_weld2.x" 



  SHADOW_MODEL = "actors\Jackie\Jackie_shadow.x"


I'll reemphasize, it works preferctly in DX8.
Logged

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2009, 03:46:21 PM »

here's the same thing in the Scene Editor of WME 1.8.10 (which uses DX 8)

Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2009, 04:10:27 PM »

Well, I'm only telling you what can cause this symptom. I don't know why, and I can't even test it without the complete actor definition and all models.
You'll have to ask microsoft why each DirectX version parses the X files differently.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2009, 05:50:23 PM »

The first link seems to be broken.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2009, 11:00:48 PM »

http://pizza-morgana.com/beta/Jackie6_cm_weld2.X
sorry was typing it by hand and it's cae sensitive.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2009, 02:02:33 PM »

I ran it through the debugger and the DX9 .X file parser indeed can't see any bones in the shadow model. No idea why, though, sorry. It's a blackbox for me (the D3DXLoadSkinMeshFromXof function if anyone's interested).

Apparently the function changed between DX8 and DX9. Could you export the shadow model as text .X file? Perhaps it will become more apparent what's going on in there.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2009, 09:28:27 PM »

I tried saving file as text .X file from the MView , but then it refuses to load the the text file in mview now, but it does load it in WME, and the shodow is still not applied.

I don't know if i have the latest version of it in MAX, i remember there were some bowties in the shadow model in the past, and the version i have is one before that, my laptop

try
http://pizza-morgana.com/beta/Jackie_Shadow_text.X

vs  older version, working , but has bowties which causes graphical glitches only in some computers. which was corrected in the newer version. in this one the skeleton does work correctly.
http://pizza-morgana.com/beta/Jackie_Shadow_text1.X
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2009, 10:07:47 PM »

Did you mean it the other way? Shadow_text1.x seems to be the faulty one, while Shadow_text.x seems to work.

Copying the XSkinMeshHeader and SkinWeights templates to Jackie_Shadow_text1.X appears to fix the t-pose problem.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SoundGuy

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Shadow Model isn't skinned when moving from DX8 to DX9
« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2009, 10:19:25 PM »

you're probably right about the two files swtiched.

i'll try that - thanks!
Logged
 

Page created in 0.306 seconds with 17 queries.