Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?  (Read 5054 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

2.0

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile

Hi!
In my game I need to toggle between windowed and fullscreen modes without launching the configuration utility. How can I do this?
Also it will be good enough if I can toggle windowed/fullscreen trigger from inside the game, and at the next launch the game will use proper mode. How can I do this?
Thanks.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2009, 10:02:43 PM »

You can't do this.
You could do the switch-on-next-launch thing by overwriting the right value in the registry, but the script functions won't allow you to do that so you'd either need to use Windows API directly, or use a plugin / external DLL.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

2.0

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 10:55:43 PM »

OK. Where I can find (path to it) this value?

You can't do this.
You could do the switch-on-next-launch thing by overwriting the right value in the registry, but the script functions won't allow you to do that so you'd either need to use Windows API directly, or use a plugin / external DLL.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 10:58:26 PM »

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\<the path you set in ProjectMan>\Video
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

2.0

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2009, 11:18:31 PM »

Thanks Mnemonic!

Did you planned to include toggle feature at the next releases? As I know, in the earlier versions of WME this feature works and works fine.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\<the path you set in ProjectMan>\Video
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2009, 09:43:07 AM »

Umm, no, WME never had that feature.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

2.0

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2009, 10:38:06 PM »

Umm, no, WME never had that feature.

Strange, I read about it somewhere in old themes... However may be I've mixed up... But... May be you can realize this functionality in one of the future releases? Point is that this feature is claimed in the current games, especially in casual games. And for casual developers it may be very useful advantage.
Logged

Prote1n

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2010, 02:18:10 PM »

I totally agree. Such a feature is very important for a commercial title today
Logged

Kinjal

  • WME Kinjal Edition Developer
  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: How can I toggle between windowed/fullscreen modes from the game?
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2010, 09:03:41 AM »

Quote
I totally agree. Such a feature is very important for a commercial title today
You can try WME Kinjal Edition, it support windowed/fullscreen switching in game, without game restart.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.031 seconds with 19 queries.