Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: Multi-Sub Object Problem (SOLVED)  (Read 4975 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fernando24691

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Multi-Sub Object Problem (SOLVED)
« on: May 24, 2009, 05:52:06 PM »

Hi,

These days I've been modelling my main character in 3ds MAX.

As the title says, I used a Multi-Sub Object material in order to map my mesh, assigning one material ID's to each surface and then applying the textures.

In 3dsmax the renders showed the mesh well mapped, so I exported it to  DirectX ".X" format, following the steps shown in the tutorial of this page.

Once exported, I checked it out with DirectX Mesh Viewer, and, as you can see, the mesh looked right too:



But the problem comes when I put the mesh into the actor3d definition file. In the preview window, my mesh appears only with one material (the pants  :-[ ) and, of course, when I test the game the actor appears only with one texture in the whole body:



Anyone knows "why" ?  :-[

Thanks!  ;)
« Last Edit: May 26, 2009, 02:22:13 PM by fernando24691 »
Logged

fernando24691

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
SOLVED!
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 02:21:52 PM »

Once again I solved the problem !  :D :D

The problem was with "Use DirectX 9" option. It was turned off, and, AFAIK, DirectX9 do support Multi-Sub Object material type, while other versions don't.

Enabling DirectX 9 use we allow wintermute to use sub-object materials. And now my mesh shows correctly  ::rock :


PD: now I can start rigging !
« Last Edit: May 26, 2009, 02:23:55 PM by fernando24691 »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Multi-Sub Object Problem (SOLVED)
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2009, 05:19:16 PM »

That's interesting, I'd expect both DX versions to handle the model loading in the same way, but apparently it's not the case.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 20 queries.