Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: Bad quality of video Theora  (Read 2093 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HIman

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 24
  • Russian adventure !
    • View Profile
    • Home WEB by QSP
Bad quality of video Theora
« on: September 01, 2005, 08:49:27 AM »

Greetings!
    I have tried to recode from AVI in Teora, and with help VLC media player,
 and with the help ffmpeg2theora-0.15.exe, but the half-scientific result absolutely has not pleased me,
very strong distortions. Such into game to insert it is impossible!
How to be?
Logged

Nihil

  • Supporter
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
  • Fear me! I'm evil!
    • View Profile
    • Order of Dagon
Re: Bad quality of video Theora
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2005, 09:30:58 AM »

And the quality of the original AVI is ok? Maybe there is a lot of "action" going on in the video so that the compression doesn't work properly?

If you are not going commercial atm you can also use another codec, like Xvid or so, maybe that is the better alternative then?

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Bad quality of video Theora
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2005, 02:54:30 PM »

Currently theora is still in an alpha stage. It is based on the "ancient" VP3 codec by On2 and it hasn't seen any quality impovements. That will change in the future. Unfortunately it's the only free solution for a commercial title.
Logged
fl*p
 

Page created in 0.072 seconds with 23 queries.