Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: ITEMS inventory image hover  (Read 4818 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SANNOI

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 22
  • mmmmm...
    • View Profile
    • ModelArt Software
ITEMS inventory image hover
« on: July 14, 2003, 04:20:08 PM »

Hi all, I want to change the image of the inventory items images when the mouse cursor pass over the items, how can I do it? I've tried to add a file in the items definition file in each item which put IMAGE_HOVER = "image_hover.png" but the engine crashes when it runs.

Thanks to all,

SANNOI
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:ITEMS inventory image hover
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2003, 05:42:21 PM »

1)You have to define the *EXACT* path to the png file.
For example if you have the file in the items/item01/ directory, then you should define it as "items/item01/item01_h.png" and not just "item01_h.png"

2)Download and use the latest build031 version.

3)If non of the above solves the problem, please run the game in debug mode and post the wme.long and/or wme_crash.log file (they should be in your project's directory).
Logged
fl*p

SANNOI

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 22
  • mmmmm...
    • View Profile
    • ModelArt Software
Re:ITEMS inventory image hover
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2003, 10:25:37 PM »

There is the last wme.exe crash:

---------------------------------------------------------
---------- WME crash report: 14-07-2003, 23:21 ----------
---------------------------------------------------------
wme.exe caused a EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION in module wme.exe at 001B:004459E4
EAX=00000000  EBX=00BFDA08  ECX=00BF8330  EDX=00000000  ESI=004EC5AC
EDI=00BF8330  EBP=00BF8330  ESP=0012F4E4  EIP=004459E4  FLG=00010212
CS=001B   DS=0023  SS=0023  ES=0023   FS=0038  GS=0000
Stack trace:
001B:004459E4 (0x00000000 0x00BF8450 0x00000002 0x00000005) wme.exe
001B:00BF65F8 (0x00446C00 0x00446CE0 0x00446ED0 0x00447710) <UNKNOWN>
001B:00446E20 (0x082444F6 0x56097401 0xFDC20DE8 0x04C483FF) wme.exe

Thanks,

SANNOI

Edit: The path of the images is ok and I used the last version of wme (031).
« Last Edit: July 14, 2003, 10:27:03 PM by SANNOI »
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:ITEMS inventory image hover
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2003, 10:39:18 PM »

Hm... and this ONLY happens when you change the items definition file? Did you use the one from the wme_demo as an example?

The file wme.log has any error messages?

Maybe it would be easier to find the problem if you post the items.items file... 'cause I am ran out of ideas right now.
Logged
fl*p

SANNOI

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 22
  • mmmmm...
    • View Profile
    • ModelArt Software
Re:ITEMS inventory image hover
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2003, 12:58:46 AM »

OK, when I put this in the items.items file, the game runs fine:

Code: [Select]
ITEM
{
   CURSOR_COMBINED = TRUE
   CAPTION = "WME User's Guide"
   NAME = "book"
   IMAGE = "items\book.png"  
   CURSOR = "items\book.png"
   CURSOR_HOVER = "items\book_h.png"
   SCRIPT = "items\book.script"
}

The engine crashes when I put this code:

Code: [Select]
ITEM
{
   CURSOR_COMBINED = TRUE
   CAPTION = "WME User's Guide"
   NAME = "book"
   IMAGE = "items\book.png"
   IMAGE_HOVER = "items\book_h.png"  
   CURSOR = "items\book.png"
   CURSOR_HOVER = "items\book_h.png"
   SCRIPT = "items\book.script"
}

I think that the attribb IMAGE_HOVER don't exist. I need to know if there are another way to do the items inventory image hover.

Thanks,

SANNOI
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:ITEMS inventory image hover
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2003, 06:51:28 AM »

No, there is no IMAGE_HOVER attribute. I will add it.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:ITEMS inventory image hover
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2003, 08:54:12 AM »

LOL I was thinking about cursor_hover all this time.

[talking to myself] I should stop posting things at 2.00 in the morning [/talking to myselft]
Logged
fl*p
 

Page created in 0.031 seconds with 19 queries.