Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: Some bugs  (Read 6238 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Banbury

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm a llama! Mooh!
    • View Profile
Some bugs
« on: February 03, 2003, 08:17:55 AM »

Hi,
I'm busy converting my adventure to Wintermute.
I've found a few bugs or things that don't work as expected:
- Scene.Filename always returns [null].
- the TalkAsync method doesn't set the IsTalking and Ready flags.
- the Talk method suppresses all events. If I have a long monologue, there is no way to skip it.

Everything else works great for me. I absolutely love the GUI part of Wintermute. It's very easy to use.

Greetings

Banbury
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:Some bugs
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2003, 09:58:01 AM »

Thank you! I'll look into it.

A single Talk command can be skipped by left clicking the mouse. I will make it configurable which mouse button skips the talk line (suggested by Jeroen).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:Some bugs
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2003, 01:10:03 PM »

I had a bug-chasing weekend :), so I finally got to these problems. Then Scene.Filename was a stupid bug and it's fixed. But the IsTalking() and Ready seem to work for me. How did you test it? BTW please note that IsTalking() is a method, not an attribute. And the Ready attribute returns false, whenever the actor is talking (no matter whether he's talking using Talk or TalkAsync).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Banbury

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm a llama! Mooh!
    • View Profile
Re:Some bugs
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2003, 07:57:23 AM »

I wanted to create a special talk function for cutscenes. So I called the TalkAsync method and followed it with a loop with the exit condition either IsTalking() = false or Ready=true. The programm never executed the loop and when I printed the values to the screen they were never correct. Maybe this is a timing problem and the values of IsTalking() and Ready are not set immediately after TalkAsync is called?

Greetings

Banbury
Logged
 

Page created in 0.071 seconds with 22 queries.