Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically  (Read 5848 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dudeldei

  • Supporter
  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically
« on: November 14, 2007, 01:06:17 AM »

I don't know what the status is but I would like to 'remember' what synchron wrote and already is on the todo list but is still talked about alot here.

Quote
<sychron> i would add an option "isWidescreen".
<sychron> to the global properties
<sychron> if it's set to false, the game is handled as normal
<sychron> and the graphics driver will add the bars.
<sychron> you can autodetect widescreen games by looking at the game size
<sychron> and handle them ...
<sychron> 4:3 games on 4:3 screens --> no problem
<sychron> 16:9 games on 16:9 screens: no problem
<sychron> 16:9 games on 4:3 screens: options bars or zoom
<sychron> 4:3 games on 16:9 screens: options "no change" (let the driver do it) or "crop"
<sychron> and ... each scene get's a parameter "allowScrollingOnAspectDifference" or something like that

I would like to add the option to have it as simple fullscreen window, a black background window and the content (game) in the middle. The window could be with an option to display the window bar, etc.

Logged

Derrek3D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2007, 03:51:39 PM »

I finally managed to find one graphic adapter (an Intel) that showed the game in its original resolution padded by a black border on all four sides. The effect was exactly what I wanted and it worked like a charm - the image was not distorted and the immersion remained intact. If all graphic adapters had this feature there wouldn't be any problem but unfortunately they don't. I even encountered some adapters having this feature in theory, but when activated - it didn't work.

Bottom line, I second Dudeldei in this request. A black border like that, activated through the Display tab in the Game settings application could be great. The black border option (something like "Keep original game resolution"), if activated by the user,  should either fill the rest of the screen with a black border to reach the current desktop resolution or maybe the target resolution can be selected as well from the Game settings application, although it's less important I think.
Logged

Stucki

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
    • Schach-Welten
Re: Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2007, 06:10:57 PM »

i would think this very helpfull, too
best regards
stucki

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2007, 06:34:36 PM »

It seems that I'm outnumbered ;) since I'm the only one who thinks this is something that shouldn't be dealt at the engine side. ok Mnemonic, you can program this into wme  :) :) :)
Logged
fl*p

Dudeldei

  • Supporter
  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2007, 10:41:14 PM »

yes Mnemonic, you can start now  ;D 0:) O0 ::beer
Logged

lacosaweb

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution 16:10 and 4:3 handled automatically
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2008, 12:47:14 PM »

This is a great feature. It would be implemented in next version of WME?
Logged
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.