Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: Help! Game won't run at all!  (Read 3904 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kaz

  • Arberth Studios
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
  • The story is the game
    • View Profile
    • Info on 'Rhiannon' & 'Coven'
Help! Game won't run at all!
« on: May 27, 2008, 02:57:06 PM »

Hello all.

Yesterday, the game worked fine. Now today it won't. When I press the ! I get the game settings screen. The screen clears and goes black, as it should. The hard disk light flashes, and then the screen reverts to project manager. Nothing appears in the log.

I get an error message 'Startup Settings must be an unsigned integer number'. Can't find anything about that here.

I've compiled the game and got rid of every syntax error it found - same result
I've tried the compiled version - same result
I've used startup scenes that I know have worked fine for months - same result
I've used other startup scenes not tried before - same result
I've loaded the WME demo and that works OK
I'm running it on Vista Home Basic, Celeron 3.46Ghz, 512Mb RAM

Help!
 
Logged
\"Fans of popular horror adventures like Scratches and Barrow Hill should start bracing themselves for another haunting experience, as independent developer Arberth Studios has announced production on its debut title Rhiannon - Curse of the Four Branches.\" - AdventureGamers.com

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 03:05:57 PM »

My guess is there's something wrong with either the startup.settings or the default.game files in your project.
Shut down ProjectMan, backup these two files and replace them with those from WME demo. Then start ProjectMan and try running the game again. If it runs, you know the culprit. Try editing the files in text editor to see any apparent problems.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Kaz

  • Arberth Studios
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
  • The story is the game
    • View Profile
    • Info on 'Rhiannon' & 'Coven'
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 03:15:35 PM »

Nope. Same result.
Logged
\"Fans of popular horror adventures like Scratches and Barrow Hill should start bracing themselves for another haunting experience, as independent developer Arberth Studios has announced production on its debut title Rhiannon - Curse of the Four Branches.\" - AdventureGamers.com

Kaz

  • Arberth Studios
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
  • The story is the game
    • View Profile
    • Info on 'Rhiannon' & 'Coven'
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2008, 03:17:33 PM »

default.game

 generated by ProjectMan

GAME {
  NAME="Rhiannon"
  CAPTION="Rhiannon"
  SCRIPT="scripts\game.script"
  PERSONAL_SAVEGAMES=FALSE
  THUMBNAIL_WIDTH=168
  THUMBNAIL_HEIGHT=126
  LOCAL_SAVE_DIR="saves"
  INDICATOR_HEIGHT=8
  INDICATOR_COLOR { 255, 0, 0, 128 }
  SYSTEM_FONT="fonts\outline_green.font"
  CURSOR="sprites\system\RhiannonCursors\Cursor_ball.png"
  ACTIVE_CURSOR="sprites\system\RhiannonCursors\Action2.png"
  NONINTERACTIVE_CURSOR="sprites\system\cur_wait.sprite"
  SUBTITLES=TRUE
  VIDEO_SUBTITLES=TRUE
  SUBTITLES_SPEED=70
}

AD_GAME {
  RESPONSE_BOX="interface\responses.def"
  INVENTORY_BOX="interface\inventory.def"
  ITEMS="items\items.items"
  TALK_SKIP_BUTTON="left"
  STARTUP_SCENE="scenes\00_Intro\Intro01\Intro01.scene"
  DEBUG_STARTUP_SCENE="scenes\06_Pantry\HP1E\HP1E.scene"
}


startup.settings

; generated by ProjectMan

SETTINGS {
  GAME="default.game"
  GUID="{3442B564-3FDD-434E-AD96-19BFE386989C}"
  STRING_TABLE="string.tab"
  RESOLUTION { 1024,768 }
  REQUIRE_3D_ACCELERATION=TRUE
  ALLOW_WINDOWED_MODE=TRUE
  ALLOW_ADVANCED=FALSE
  ALLOW_ACCESSIBILITY_TAB=TRUE
  ALLOW_ABOUT_TAB=TRUE
  REGISTRY_PATH="software\ArberthStudios\RhiannonGame"
}

Logged
\"Fans of popular horror adventures like Scratches and Barrow Hill should start bracing themselves for another haunting experience, as independent developer Arberth Studios has announced production on its debut title Rhiannon - Curse of the Four Branches.\" - AdventureGamers.com

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2008, 03:17:58 PM »

Okay, so what's the last thing written in wme.log after the game shuts down?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Kaz

  • Arberth Studios
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
  • The story is the game
    • View Profile
    • Info on 'Rhiannon' & 'Coven'
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2008, 03:25:37 PM »

15:23: User selected:
15:23:   Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT  (accelerated)
15:23:          Windowed:no  Colors:32bit  T&L:no  Multisample:0
15:23:   Audio: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
15:23: Maximum texture size: 8192x8192
15:23: Syntax error in ITEMS definition
15:23: Error parsing ITEMS file 'items\items.items'
15:23: Error loading GAME definition
15:23: Error parsing GAME file 'default.game'
15:23: Error loading game file. Exiting.
15:23:
15:23: Shutting down...
15:23: Shutting down scripting engine
15:23: ********** DEBUG LOG CLOSED ********************************************

Hmm - is there a quick way of checking the syntax of items.items?
Logged
\"Fans of popular horror adventures like Scratches and Barrow Hill should start bracing themselves for another haunting experience, as independent developer Arberth Studios has announced production on its debut title Rhiannon - Curse of the Four Branches.\" - AdventureGamers.com

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2008, 03:31:17 PM »

Quick way, no. Look for missing braces and/or quotation marks.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Kaz

  • Arberth Studios
  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
  • The story is the game
    • View Profile
    • Info on 'Rhiannon' & 'Coven'
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2008, 03:52:43 PM »

Aha. Evidently a botched cut-and-paste job. Two new items, added yesterday, missing the word ITEMS from their description. All working again now.

Honestly, you can't get the staff these days. The programmer in question has been blindfolded and executed by firing squad, his possessions incinerated and his bloodline sterilised. We think we've been quite lenient really, under the circumstances :-)

Seriously though, any way we could have a tool that would check the syntax of .windows and .items? Would be useful.

Thanks for all your help.

Cheers
Logged
\"Fans of popular horror adventures like Scratches and Barrow Hill should start bracing themselves for another haunting experience, as independent developer Arberth Studios has announced production on its debut title Rhiannon - Curse of the Four Branches.\" - AdventureGamers.com

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Help! Game won't run at all!
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2008, 03:58:32 PM »

There's no need to check .window files, because now there's WindowEdit and it doesn't make syntax errors :) As for items... they could use a GUI tool as well...
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 19 queries.