Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: a question about languages  (Read 3563 times)

gypsysnail

• Lurker
    • View Profile
a question about languages
« on: April 28, 2010, 07:40:24 PM »

Hi, I'm a newbie here and I have tried the search but not much info on what I want to ask.

I read the Wintermute features page but I really don't understand fully which language I should focus on to learn so I can create my game. I have written a game and designed the graphics, but I am a beginner in programming at this point. I know it says javascript, c-type languages, php, but which language should I actually focus on for the nature of the game which is a role playing adventure game (like the sierra games and modern games like Runaway: A road Adventure and So Blonde) and it being a long length game... I'd like some direction. I really hope this isn't a silly question, so sorry in advance if it is. I also thought javascript and php were really internet/web based application programming languages? This game I am making won't be web-based, but downloadable and saved to the hard drive or on a cd rom. If anyone can help, that would be so much appreciated :)

gypsysnail

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Re: a question about languages
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 05:45:45 AM »

Annoyed here!! 16 views and NO REPLY!!!!!!!!!???????????????????????? PLEASE can someone kindly reply to my question?????? At least be honest if you thought it was a stupid question. I am a newbie thanks a lot!!! >:(  >:(

mylesblasonato

• Developer
  • Frequent poster
  • "Give up is to fail as sacrifice is to succeed"
    • View Profile
    • Royal Wins
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 08:26:14 AM »

Hi there :)