Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Some easy questions (newbie)  (Read 10743 times)

organican

• Occasional poster
    • View Profile
Some easy questions (newbie)
« on: September 25, 2004, 01:43:34 PM »

Hi everybody ;)

I'm new at this (programming and everything...)  :o
so I hope you could help me out and getting this to work.

I'm trying to learn how to make a "if var a = 1 then do this"
but i'm not sure if i should put it in the object's script..
and i'm not quite sure "if(a=1)" is a real event, like "LeftClick".
I think that maybe it will only be activated once and then not work anymore.
Should I use "for" or "while" or something instead.
Sorry if this is too talky...
and i'm trying to make some things happen every x seconds. Should I use the date object for that?
or does the "Sleep (100)" work?

I'm new at this so I haven't quite figured out the syntax and all yet...
And then I'm trying to make an object rotate 1 degree at a time = this.Rotate = this.Rotate + 1,
but that doesn't work. Ordinary rotation work.. like "this.Rotate = 180;"

some code:

var tree;
var rotate;
/*
on "LeftClick"
{
this.Rotate = this.Rotate + tree;
}
*/

while (tree<10)
{ tree = tree + 1;
Sleep (200);
}

if (tree=10)
{ rotate = this.Rotate + 1;
this.Rotate = rotate;
tree = 1;
Sleep (100);
}

Thanx and everything

MMR

• Global Moderator
  • Frequent poster
  • http://mmrdeveloper.wordpress.com/
    • View Profile
    • TinyWME
Re: Some easy questions (newbie)
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2004, 02:51:28 PM »

To compare values remember to use "==" instead of "=".

"=" is used to asign values and "==" is used to compare values.

In your case if (tree=10) should be if (tree==10)