Wintermute Engine Forum

Wintermute Engine => Technical forum => Topic started by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 12:00:20 PM

Title: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 12:00:20 PM
Hi folks,

i have searched and read a lot of Threads here. but nothing helps me with my problem. I have a character in max9 and i rigged it with IK and Bones and i worked with skin. I animated him. But however I export the Mesh only or the whole animation, the guy is wrecked. I load a file from a mesh only character without any things and it works great. Now my time is passing by and i need a quick solution without rigging it new.

Must i use Bipeds or a other method to animating him? I'm new to Animating and in weeks i worked out the CG-Academy tutorials for animation. If somebody knows the methods.

The Characters Pivot is at 0,0,0 and i have tried it with hidden Controlshapes and so on.
I'm begging somebody has a solution for me, so thank you very much if you folks have one.

My english isn't very good, maybe someone understands here german, i can write it in german for better understanding for the problem.

Edit: sorry for placing to the wrong topic, i should read in future the undermarks of the topic carefully ;)
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 29, 2007, 04:50:46 PM
It could be very helpfull if you could tell us what do you exactly mean with "wrecked" and if you could post the options you used for exporting.

regards

Amo
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 05:22:01 PM
the legs comes through the head and so on. the mesh is distorted.

as i exported it without animation the options are:

mesh definition on
materials on
inline off
include animation off
bones off

geometric on
dummy off

mesh normals on
flip normals off
mapping coordinates on

matrix on
3ds max ticks on

texture conversion on
scale to nearest power on
white diffusion override on

filetype: text & binary on ( i tried both)
subframe hierarchy on
left handed axis on (also tagged off and on again because this bug)

for animation i did the same but with include animation and i added my animation in the list. i tried also matrix AND position,scale & rotate and with keyframes too. I am really sure i had all combinations through. So i think it must be something with the animation construction.

i will do a picture in here, too


Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 05:33:40 PM
wtf.

i must revoke this about the still... i do not know why... but now it works as i want to do a screenshot.
It is possible, that Wintermute doesn't like a resolution of 1900x1280? because i played between the time something in the resolution of 1600x...  and i have this resolution still on my laptop...

I will try this also with the animation... maybe the problem passing by by itself *g*
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 05:38:47 PM
ok, in animation i have still the problem.

here is the screenshot what happens with the model

(http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/7660/wmdudelu2.th.jpg) (http://img403.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wmdudelu2.jpg)

and here how it looks original

(http://img184.imageshack.us/img184/2899/wmdudemaxiw0.th.jpg) (http://img184.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wmdudemaxiw0.jpg)
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: FogGobbler on August 29, 2007, 06:45:54 PM
Try collapsing the modifier stack so that you only have "Editable Poly" and "skin" in the stack.
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 07:02:14 PM
thank you for your replay. i have only editable mesh and skin in my stack. maybe there is a problem with eMesh?
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 29, 2007, 08:34:26 PM

First of all: The world is a village, you are the one who tried to help me papering my room, ain't you? Zottel  ;D

Ok, your exportoptions are wrong imho.
Try the following:

include animation ON
bones ON

That should do the trick.

If you used biped or what ever, make sure that the bones are set to not renderable within max, otherwise it looks funny.

Regards

Amo
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: FogGobbler on August 29, 2007, 08:40:16 PM
I had problems with editMesh and had to convert it to an editable Poly. I donĀ“t know why  ??? . Perhaps that does the trick for you, too.
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 29, 2007, 10:21:07 PM
i knew there is only one amo in the world :P

the settings that i have postet were the ones for the still. for animation i've done these hooks.
Maybe i can get your icq-number alter Lodentoni ;).

it still doesn't work... *cry*

Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 30, 2007, 12:26:48 PM
I do not use ICQ,

but anyway, yes there is only one Amo in the world and he has absolutely no idea what is wrong.
Try following: Download fragmotion from www.fragmosoft.com and import it there and take a look what is wrong there, maybe that helps.

Regards

Amo
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 30, 2007, 01:30:21 PM
ok, in fragmotion is the same problem... a few bones are there where they shall not be to. maybe the exporter do something to them...
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 30, 2007, 03:18:55 PM
It seems that panda makes some crap. Nothing new to me, anyway. Panda doesn't understand something in your rig but via internet it is impossible for me to say what it could be.
One question: Why do you use a custom rig?
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 30, 2007, 03:28:49 PM
that makes me not think positivly... i used a custom rig, because i wantet to learn animating... and till panda it worked great. And on the other side i thought i could have more control about it. 

Does i understand right, that this isn't the normal workwise in the gameindustry?
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 30, 2007, 07:16:23 PM
Nope, I wouldn't say that but biped makes it easier, especially when working with Mocap data as we do.
On the other hand, a custom rig gives more control, yes, but why doing the work, others have done before? Especially in WME's case the characters are not that complex that they are worth a custom rig. But thats only my opionion.

Regards

Amo
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 30, 2007, 08:09:15 PM
i understand. but the cg-academy dvd worked only with custom rig... 
and now i invested a lot of heardbleed in it... 

Is it possible that wintermute understands animated vertex? Or must i have some dummy like Biped, Bones...?
I tried to bake animation, but i wasn't successfull.

Now im trying to do the work with the standard biped thing from max.
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: leucome on August 30, 2007, 08:27:47 PM
You can try to merge your  model in a new empty max scene. This seem to reorganise data and sometime it can repair unexpected exporting bug...
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 30, 2007, 08:29:12 PM
Nope I tried that before (for some facial expression stuff) but it doesn't work, so I made some additions to the biped, nothing special, a few bones for the mouth and a simple tape object based eye control which leads to some very basic facial anims.

Erm what did you use to control your IK chains? Dummies?
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 31, 2007, 03:13:38 AM
i have dummies and control shapes. they are wired like a cyborg...
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: Amo on August 31, 2007, 10:50:04 AM
So try activating the dummies in the exporter. Hm, it is stupid, I guess you tried that before, but it is the last idea I have.
Title: Re: panda kills my Mesh (Bones+IK)
Post by: DragonOfDarkH on August 31, 2007, 11:35:42 AM
its deactivated... but not the problem. I guess the whole packet of Wires, Constraints and Controllers are too much for Panda. :(