Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Russian bitmap fonts  (Read 25214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Russian bitmap fonts
« on: August 12, 2007, 03:53:11 PM »

Hi,
    I have a true type font for my conversations that she the translated string file in russian. All well and good but my scene font is a bitmap font, can I use the same ttf font for this?

or do I need to use bitmap, at the moment I get ??????? (question marks) instead of text.

If I have to use bitmap fonts does anyone have a russian one??

Many thanks
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 04:00:08 PM »

can I use the same ttf font for this?
Yes you can, bitmap and truetype fonts are interchangeable. You can use either anywhere (only using truetype for the system font is not recommended).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2007, 04:14:06 PM »

Ah that is what I thought, but when I change lets say the main menu definition file to read from times roman (open type) true type font it does not display any characters.

I am using the same options menu as the demo and still get ???????? (question marks) instead of text.

I am using a bitmap font for system font and time roman.ttf for all other text.

Have you had this happen to you?
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2007, 04:19:49 PM »

Make sure your TrueType font supports Cyrillic (not every TT font supports every character set). In the .font definition file change CHARSET to 10.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2007, 04:25:47 PM »

Yes I have done that, The times roman font I am using is base windows, this supports Russian etc via unicode. I am using this font specifically because all windows has this base font.

I get russian text for all conversations using the truetype font but any scene text that is set in scene.edit I get ???? (question marks) and any text on the main menu, load, save etc I get ????? too.

I have changed all window definition files but still get ???? question marks.

Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2007, 04:29:19 PM »

And are you 100% sure the windows and the caption window are using the same font as conversations? If it works at one place, it must work everywhere.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2007, 04:36:02 PM »

Yes that is what I thought, I now have scene text and conversation text but no text on my options window, load, save, quit windows.

Load.window

WINDOW
{
blah blah
FONT = "fonts\truetype.font"   (this is the definition wintermute font file that is directed to TIMES font)
blah
bla
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2007, 04:56:33 PM »

Well, it should work, as far as I can tell.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2007, 04:58:48 PM »

The text for the main WME menu detailing game options etc, where is this kept?

Many thanks for your help, it seems fine in english hahahahahaha
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2007, 05:29:00 PM »

ok got 99% done now, was an issue when changing to Times as this put some text off of the window and could not be seen. Also the string file from my publishers had some format errors on the tag lines. This cause ????? question marks to be shown.

The only issue I have now is the first lines in the string file that shows the text on the WME game options screen - Initial screen when running the game to choose Antialiasing etc. Using the CZECH string file this shows fine but in russian this is not and shows ?????? (question marks) is this because of the code page you mentioned??

Both script files are in TIMES ROMAN.


Other than this it is working OK.
Any ideas?

Cheers .  ::beer
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2007, 05:35:23 PM »

It's possible actually, it uses Windows system font. It should look ok in Russian windows.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2007, 05:43:00 PM »

mmmmmmmmm here is a screen grab, you can see some are ok, but some are not.

Very weird, have we any russian wintermutees that could help I wonder??
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2007, 05:45:05 PM »

dam cannot attach picture, give me your email addres mnemonic and will send to you.
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Dionysius

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • On the Tracks of Dinosaurs
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2007, 06:25:44 PM »

Hello, I'm Russian :) Send me screenshot too. Email:  teluh[dot]d[at]z-nsk[dot]ru. And you may try to ask here: http://wme.forum24.ru/
Logged

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2007, 11:24:39 AM »

Hi Dionysius,
                 Di you get my email with the screen grab?
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2007, 11:27:34 AM »

Dionysius,
              Have you had any issues with the front options screen of WME, which shows 32bit, 16bit etc not showing in russian?? I am English and there is no issue with english or Czech, but using a Russian font and translated string file from english to Russian I get question marks instead of text on some (not all) of the text on this initial options screen.


Any other russian developers had this issue? I am using TIMES ROMAN font and character set is 10, all in game is fine, just not the front optiones screen.

 ???

 
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

metamorphium

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1511
  • Vampires!
    • View Profile
    • CBE  software s.r.o.
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2007, 11:31:01 AM »

hi SBOVIS,

we've localized our game to russian fully and didn't experience any difficulties.
The only thing we did was setting

CHARSET = 10

in all font files.

Are you sure you don't have any static texts in scripts instead of string.tab file?
Logged
J.U.L.I.A. Enhanced Edition, Vampires!, J.U.L.I.A., J.U.L.I.A. Untold, Ghost in the Sheet

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2007, 11:35:11 AM »

Hi Metamorphium,
                        All in game text is fine in russian, and displays no problem, CHARSET =10 is set.
The only issue I have is when the game is run and the WME options screen appears, some (not all) of the text on this small default panel comes up as question marks ????? and not russian, but as I said there is some text that is fine. If the charset was an issue or the font surely all would be affected??

Really weird!!! works no problem in cezch and English 
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #18 on: August 20, 2007, 11:50:34 AM »

Is the russian string table saved in UTF-8 format?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #19 on: August 20, 2007, 12:02:35 PM »

Yes it is, it would have to be otherwise I would not get in-game Russian text? hahahahha  ;D
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #20 on: August 20, 2007, 12:20:26 PM »

Not necessarily.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #21 on: August 20, 2007, 12:23:16 PM »

The string format is UTF-8, the same format for the Cezch version.
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #22 on: August 20, 2007, 12:36:29 PM »

In any case, it should display ok in Russian Windows.
As for the CZ version, if you make a screenshot, I can tell you if it displays ok or not. Because in this case you wouldn't get question marks, but misplaced characters (CZ characters mapped to western codepage).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #23 on: August 20, 2007, 02:04:53 PM »

Thanks Menmonic, Can you email me -sbovis@blueyonder.co.uk
and I will reply with screenshots.

Many thanks.
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #24 on: August 20, 2007, 04:50:06 PM »

Can you just upload the image somewhere? Anyway, you can see my mail address in my profile.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #25 on: August 20, 2007, 04:52:00 PM »

OK will do later, when I get back to other PC.

Thanks
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2007, 05:16:55 PM »

Hi Mnemonic,
                 I have sent you an email with the TEST image on it showing the issue I am getting.

Thanks  ::rock
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2007, 05:50:52 PM »

Oh, I was talking about a picture of the czech version. It's likely not to display well on your machine, but you probably can't tell.
Anyway, as I said, it should be ok on Russian Windows. To test it, go to Control Panel -> Regional Settings -> Advanced tab. Choose "Russian" and click OK. Windows will reboot. Now if you run the game, it should display the settings dialog completely in Cyrillic.

Now, my working version of WME uses Unicode whenever possible, so it displays mostly ok even without changing the regional settings, but in Vista even with Unicode the window caption displays question marks. I suppose it's because Vista uses other font for captions, I'm not sure.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

SBOVIS

  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 404
  • FORGET REALITY SURRENDER TO YOUR DARKEST DREAMS
    • View Profile
    • LIMBO of the LOST
Re: Russian bitmap fonts
« Reply #28 on: August 21, 2007, 12:19:33 AM »

OK Mnemonic thanks.
Logged
kind Regards
Steve Bovis
MAJESTIC STUDIOS
Pages: 1 2 [All]
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 19 queries.