Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: The Lost Crown type fog?  (Read 4156 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dan-D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
The Lost Crown type fog?
« on: May 12, 2008, 09:58:53 PM »

Hey ALL!
If You played The Lost Crown I guess You remember that on screen fog? So my question is how do they made fog to loop forever without visible transition?
I hope it's understandable :)
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: The Lost Crown type fog?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 10:20:12 PM »

I can think of two ways. Random placed sprites & particles.
Logged
fl*p

Dan-D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: The Lost Crown type fog?
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2008, 10:37:17 PM »

Oh please tell me more about random placed sprites? How to animate them and tell engine to select it in random order?
Logged

sychron

  • Wanderer zwischen den Welten
  • Global Moderator
  • Regular poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • There is no spoon. The enemy gate is down!
    • View Profile
Re: The Lost Crown type fog?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2008, 05:49:30 PM »

You could use an external plugin to render a demo effect called "plasma" to create the fog.

An easier way would be to use a rendered plasma loop of two or more plasmas interfering in intensity and animate it's overall alpha within a script, so no loop looks like the other.

Well, while thinking of this method:
Use TWO plasma loops, with different lengths, at best the frame numbers should be multiples of prime numbers, and stack them in the scene editor. If the alpha is set correctly on both loops, they will interfere with each other, creating the fog. Since both loops have different lengths, they will never create the same interference twice until restarted. You can use scripts to animate both alphas and/or the starting frame of every loop to create further randomness.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2008, 05:52:50 PM by sychron »
Logged
... delete the inner sleep ...

Dan-D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: The Lost Crown type fog?
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2008, 09:57:37 PM »

Quote
You could use an external plugin to render a demo effect called "plasma" to create the fog
what external plugin? plugin for 3d max?
Logged

sychron

  • Wanderer zwischen den Welten
  • Global Moderator
  • Regular poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • There is no spoon. The enemy gate is down!
    • View Profile
Re: The Lost Crown type fog?
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2008, 04:45:17 AM »

No, plugin for Wintermute ;-)

But I really would go for gate 3, taking the "two fog animation layers" approach seems to be the easiest way to archive the effect.

P.S.: For a description of the Plasma effect, have a look here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plasma_effect
and here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diamond-square_algorithm
Logged
... delete the inner sleep ...
 

Page created in 0.042 seconds with 19 queries.