Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Pages: 1 [2]  All

Author Topic: wme and project whith gfx bug  (Read 12833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Drax

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 78
  • This engine rocks!
    • View Profile
    • Ganja Joe - And the myth of the holy pot
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2004, 10:46:43 AM »

sorry, had a lot to do the last days. here the log file:
Quote
11:38: ********** DEBUG LOG OPENED 08-05-2004 (Release Build) *****************
11:38: DEAD:CODE Games Framework ver 1.02 (Build 43), Compiled on Apr 26 2004, 19:55:00
11:38: Platform: Windows XP Service Pack 1 (Build 2600)
11:38: DirectX version: 8.1b
11:38: BugslayerUtil.dll is bound
11:38:
11:38: Scanning packages...
11:38:   Registered 0 files in 0 package(s)
11:38: Initializing scripting engine...
11:38:   Script compiler 'dcscomp.dll' bound successfuly
11:38: Loading string table...
11:38:   23 strings loaded
11:38: First run / crash recovery
11:38: Enumerating Direct3D devices...
11:38: Enumerating DirectDraw devices...
11:38: Enumerating DirectSound devices...
11:38: Available video devices:
11:38:   S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR (accelerated)
11:38:   S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR (non accelerated)
11:38: Available audio devices:
11:38:   Prim
Logged
I'm Lost!

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2004, 11:33:23 AM »

Did you try enabling the "Force texture subdivision" option?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Drax

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 78
  • This engine rocks!
    • View Profile
    • Ganja Joe - And the myth of the holy pot
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2004, 09:19:22 PM »

yes. i've tryed all possibility. in nearly all combinations. it's always the same problem in '3d mode'. if 3d acceleration is offthe gfx are ok but the mouse is moving whith a 'latenz'(=only german?) whith some seconds delay.

the project manager shos this gfx bug. it is alwaysin 3d acc. modee or why this problems in PM too?

(off topic *g*)=
I changed developing now back to my Desktop PC. We already finisched the demo. Now im waiting for lakeside creating the homepage and i'm waiting for money *g* to buy a condensator microfon for speech recording.

but hten we release.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2004, 09:30:46 PM by DraX »
Logged
I'm Lost!

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #18 on: May 09, 2004, 06:30:08 PM »

In general, I only know two "tips" about most S3 issues:

1) Upgrade video driver from http://www.s3graphics.com/Drivers.html

If this doesn't help, it comes to 2:

2) Upgrade video card.

I'm serious. :) Especially when it comes to Microsoft games, you will find this great "hint" in some documentations.
I see the problem with a notebook though...
« Last Edit: May 09, 2004, 06:42:29 PM by Jerrot »
Logged
Mooh!

Drax

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 78
  • This engine rocks!
    • View Profile
    • Ganja Joe - And the myth of the holy pot
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2004, 07:10:52 PM »

Tried the latest S3 Drivers. Not better yet. It seem to be hopeless...

@Jerrot: thanks for the infos and gratulation for your 400th post. (Sometimes I will be there too.)

At the moment i'm glad to be no newbie anymore :-)
Logged
I'm Lost!

Igorrr

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 130
  • Ugh...Ughugh!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • Struggle For Life And Honour
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2004, 07:46:53 PM »

I use a laptop, too and have a ATI RADEON mobility 7500 graphics card.
I don't know if XP doesn't like mobile 3D cards, because even with the latest drivers 3D acceleration is buggy.
On my system the programs run extremely fast at first and at certain points slow extremely down. Found no solution for this.
But using Windows 98 no problems at all. Everything works fine. Too bad that I usually don't like 98. So I currently have both OS installed.

Don't know what it is but I heard from many laptop users that there are problems with their 3D hardware.

@Jerrot: Congrats!!! Will take some time until I reach that level ;-)
Logged

Nihil

  • Supporter
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
  • Fear me! I'm evil!
    • View Profile
    • Order of Dagon
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2004, 07:59:23 PM »

Have you tried Win98-compatibility-mode under XP?
This often solves problems like you mentioned.

Does the slow-down always happen at the same point or at different situations?

@Jerrot, the third: Spammer  ;D

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2004, 10:56:20 PM »

Hiya,

Tried the latest S3 Drivers. Not better yet. It seem to be hopeless...

:( Savage sucks. I only own a veeeery old laptop with about 90 MHz... anyway WME runs fine there.
Logged
Mooh!

Igorrr

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 130
  • Ugh...Ughugh!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • Struggle For Life And Honour
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #23 on: May 11, 2004, 02:25:32 AM »

I never thought about trying recent games like UT 2003 in Win98 compatability mode. But it is worth a try.
Sorry but it always happens at different places and I have the suspicion that it can be related to slight overheating.
I also tried other things like turning off Sound Acceleration. It actually helped, but not much.
Logged

Nihil

  • Supporter
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
  • Fear me! I'm evil!
    • View Profile
    • Order of Dagon
Re: wme and project whith gfx bug
« Reply #24 on: May 11, 2004, 10:13:18 AM »

Actually I'm more a tester and therefore the game developer newbie. Although I've been playing around with WME for a while already, I never used it to create my own games yet. My first game is still waiting for more time to continue my first scene graphics. :(

That sounds quite familiar to me
Pages: 1 [2]  All
 

Page created in 0.039 seconds with 24 queries.