Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: System requirements?  (Read 7402 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jannar85

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6
  • Break out the bubbly!
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Pit
System requirements?
« on: January 22, 2003, 01:17:31 PM »

Sorry to ask again, but I'm at school at the time being, and I don't have the documentation with me. I'm just wondering what the required system requirements are for 640*480 games, so it can run smooth.

Cheers again.
Logged
Regards,
Atle Ragnar Jarn

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:System requirements?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2003, 03:22:18 PM »

Sorry, I won't give you exact numbers. It is pretty much dependent on the complexity of your scenes and whether the game runs in the accelerated mode or not. In general, the most important part is a video card, everything from TNT2 and better should be fine (and especially in 640x480).
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

jannar85

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6
  • Break out the bubbly!
    • View Profile
    • Adventure Pit
Re:System requirements?
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2003, 07:26:22 PM »

Damn.... Hmmm.... It's the same req as DirectX then?
Which complexity of the scenes, do you mean? Sprites and such?
Thanks.
Logged
Regards,
Atle Ragnar Jarn

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:System requirements?
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2003, 09:10:59 AM »

Yes, the number of sprites on screen, plus their size. But I really don't think there should be any performance problems in 640x480.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Brassfire

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • The Unknown Hero
Re:System requirements?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2003, 06:36:24 AM »

What about 800x600x32-bit?
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:System requirements?
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2003, 11:03:50 AM »

Try it yourself. I tested the WME demo on my crappy old computer @ work (Celeron400, TNT2 M64, 128MB RAM), it's a bit slower in the windowed mode, but it runs flawlessly in full screen. Plus, the renderer has been further optimized in my current working version of WME, so it should be even faster now.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 19 queries.