Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: sprites inside window...  (Read 6802 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
sprites inside window...
« on: May 01, 2003, 10:58:33 AM »

Hi mnemonic... I hope you don't mind, me posting all the time in the "wishlist" forum.

I know that there can be entities inside a window but how about sprites? It could be usefull for a lot of cases. For example it can be really cool for animated items in the inventory (when the mouse is over them) or animated windows. (I am thinking Leo's first scene. He could make the phone's screen animated...)
Logged
fl*p

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2003, 12:03:52 PM »

No, I don't mind :)

You can have sprites on windows using the following syntax:

Code: [Select]
STATIC
{
  X = 10
  Y = 20
  IMAGE = "path\MySprite.sprite"
}

The "static" widgets can be either text or sprites.

The same applies to inventory items; basically, WME doesn't differentiate between a simple static BMP/TGA image and a sprite. Those are interchangable.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2003, 12:42:27 PM »

Oh... thanks... I feel stupid now  :-[ Sometimes it's better not to talk I guess  :-X
Logged
fl*p

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2003, 04:21:11 PM »

You don't need to feel stupid, I should. It's not documented anywhere...
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2003, 09:39:19 AM »

Quote
The same applies to inventory items; basically, WME doesn't differentiate between a simple static BMP/TGA image and a sprite. Those are interchangable.

Well, I have tried to create a "flying-moving" font by using a sprite (Yeah, I know, it's crazy... but I liked the idea).... and it doesn't recognise the .sprite as an image file.
Logged
fl*p

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2003, 10:14:45 AM »

OK, you got me. They are not interchangable everywhere :) I was thinking about animated fonts before, but didn't get to that yet. Wat brought me to that idea was a rotating-letters font used in Time Guard.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2003, 10:14:58 AM by Mnemonic »
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1456
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2003, 10:33:52 AM »

OK, you got me.

Heh, heh!!! :)

They are not interchangable everywhere :) I was thinking about animated fonts before, but didn't get to that yet. Wat brought me to that idea was a rotating-letters font used in Time Guard.

So, this is a TODO? What's this "Time Guard"?
Logged
fl*p

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re:sprites inside window...
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2003, 10:36:34 AM »

So, this is a TODO?
It's a TODO I've forgotten about ;) OK, it's a regular TODO now :)

What's this "Time Guard"?

http://gotgameentertainment.com/timeguard/
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
 

Page created in 0.034 seconds with 19 queries.