Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem  (Read 5788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FogGobbler

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« on: February 23, 2008, 02:09:06 PM »

Hi, again!

I don´t quite understand the animations channels. I´ve got a walking animation and a "telephone holding" animation.
How can I combine these two so that my character walks around, "holding" the phone to his ear. What channel does the walk animation have?

Thanks for your help,
Oli
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2008, 05:36:03 PM »

All the standard animations use channel 0 by default.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

FogGobbler

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2008, 07:27:25 PM »

Hmm, I can´t get it to work  ???

If I´ve got this right, this should "overwrite" the normal movement of the head when the actor is moving with my "wobble" animation (just for testing ;-)) .

"Wobble" uses the same bone structure and only moves the head.

Code: [Select]
actor.PlayAnimChannelAsync(0,"wobble");
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2008, 10:47:31 PM »

You need to play the animation in another channel. That way, the standard walking animation will play in channel zero, and some of the bones will be overridden by the other animation.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

FogGobbler

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2008, 09:41:10 AM »

Okay, so now I´m playing the new animation in channel 1 and my actor wobbles his head  ::slug , but the walking animation doesn´t work (actor just glides).

The walking animation is defined in the act3D file, the new "wobble" animation is loaded with the "merge" function.

Both animations start on keyframe 0, is that the problem?
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5683
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2008, 10:08:51 AM »

The problem is, the wobble animation should only affect the bones it's supposed to affect. Simply remove keyframes for all the other bones. That way the two animations will merge.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Derrek3D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2008, 10:20:12 AM »

Sometimes keyframes are defined for all bones even though you remove them in your 3D software so you should make sure that this is not the case. You can do that by saving the X file as text and looking inside the file with a text editor. The "wobble" animation set should contain keyframes only for the head.

By the way, loading the animation with "merge" is possible but not a must.
Logged

FogGobbler

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2008, 11:11:42 AM »

Thanks, Mnemonic and Derrek!

I´ve finally got it working and my actor wobbles his head while he is walking about (look a bit unhealthy  ;) )

It was exactly what Derrek pointed out. I deleted all keyframes in Max and started with a fresh animation, which only affected the head bones and couldn´t see any other keyframes on the other bones.

Just downloaded fragmotion and found out, that the other bones really did have keyframes..  ::)

So you´ve saved my day (and my nerves), the both of you :-))

@ Derrek : What do you mean when you say that merge isn´t a must? I know that you can also define the animations in the act3D file.
Logged

Derrek3D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2008, 12:22:10 PM »

I know that you can also define the animations in the act3D file.

Exactly, you should use merge only when you have a reason for not loading it when the rest of the animations are loaded. Do you have such a reason? Maybe for keeping memory requirements to a minimum or something similar? If there is no such reason, I think the easiest way would be to load it together with the rest of the animations by defining it in the act3D file. But really, it all depends on what you're trying to do. I just pointed it out to make sure you understand the difference between these two options of loading animations, that's all.
Logged

FogGobbler

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2008, 04:46:17 PM »

Quote
Maybe for keeping memory requirements to a minimum or something similar?

Thanks, but I´ve got quite a lot of animations that are only played in a certain scene and I want to keep the memory usage a low a possible.
Logged

Derrek3D

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Animation channels - walking and telephoning problem
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2008, 06:16:11 PM »

In that case using "merge" is exactly the way to go.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 20 queries.