Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Other 3d Question  (Read 8291 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

varnama

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Other 3d Question
« on: July 20, 2005, 01:23:25 PM »

Hi, I'm trying 3d characters and I have one questions:
- I have two characters moving on the screen, and when one of them go to other, crossing over it, like a ghost.. A there any way to  to solve this?
This is all, thanks very much  8)
« Last Edit: July 20, 2005, 01:26:21 PM by varnama »
Logged

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2005, 09:28:14 AM »

Hi, I'm trying 3d characters and I have one questions:
- I have two characters moving on the screen, and when one of them go to other, crossing over it, like a ghost.. A there any way to  to solve this?

3d actors can have their own blocked region and waypoints, which move with them, you have to add them manually though to your actor definition file. Here is the thread where Mnemonic answered this question with an example, you more or less only have to copy it to your file. ;)
http://forum.dead-code.org/index.php?topic=612.msg4592#msg4592
Logged
Mooh!

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5675
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2005, 09:47:27 AM »

Unfortunately this only applies to 2D actors. Currently you can't do that for 3D characters. You'll need to fake it somehow, like having predefined blocked areas within the scene where the secondary character is standing...
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

varnama

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2005, 12:09:01 PM »

Thanks for fast reply, I take note for 2d characters, thanks Jerrot  ;), in 3d, Mnemonic you plan to port this option to 3d actors? If this it's true, i can wait..
My problem with predefined bloqued areas are that, my secondary character isn't standing, it's walking almost all the time.. Same other idea?
Thanks very much, an other time!  :D
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5675
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2005, 12:36:34 PM »

in 3d, Mnemonic you plan to port this option to 3d actors? If this it's true, i can wait..
Yes, probably sometime in the future. It would be definitely useful.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2005, 01:25:47 PM »

Uh, sorry, I got something wrong there.  :-X
Logged
Mooh!

McCoy

  • The cocido eater
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 365
  • Spurrrrrrring
    • View Profile
    • Spur Games
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2005, 04:03:10 PM »

Maybe as a dirty trick while this function is implemented, it would be possible to script a loop daemon which moves a blocked region the size of the 3D model by the same X and Y coords than the 3D entity which moves?
Logged

Click here to sign my sig!

Jerrot

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 688
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2005, 04:25:54 PM »

Maybe as a dirty trick while this function is implemented, it would be possible to script a loop daemon which moves a blocked region the size of the 3D model by the same X and Y coords than the 3D entity which moves?

AFAIK the 3d-blocked regions (which are defined in the 3d geometry file) are not scriptable yet...
Logged
Mooh!

McCoy

  • The cocido eater
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 365
  • Spurrrrrrring
    • View Profile
    • Spur Games
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2005, 05:38:49 PM »

aha, didn't know it, I've still not dealed with 3D stuff yet.
Logged

Click here to sign my sig!

varnama

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2005, 02:02:29 AM »

Hi! I'm back with other 3d question  ::hijack
I do a 3d character, joints to animate them, but this is my question, a there any way to animate character textures? ??? I think it's important in same ways..
That's all, Thanks very much!  ;)
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5675
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2005, 08:18:44 AM »

I do a 3d character, joints to animate them, but this is my question, a there any way to animate character textures? ??? I think it's important in same ways..
No, currently it's not possible, but it's going to be implemented (I already promised that elsewhere :))
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

varnama

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2005, 11:02:30 PM »

Sorry I'm here again with 3d question..  ::hijack
I do my first animation in characterFx (work fast and well), I import to milkshape (I try and is slow), save ms3d format, and when i try in wme it's slow too, the animation have 25 frames only, and is a sequence of arm movement (center/front -> frames 1-7, front/center -> frames 7-13, center/back -> frames 13-19, Back/center -> frames 19-25)..
In characterFx i change Fps or play velocity (I think don't import them), but in milkshape and wme, I don't know where can i change this option, can someone help me?
Thanks very much for all again!  :D
« Last Edit: August 01, 2005, 11:07:06 PM by varnama »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5675
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2005, 10:15:40 AM »

Sorry I'm here again with 3d question..  ::hijack
I do my first animation in characterFx (work fast and well), I import to milkshape (I try and is slow), save ms3d format, and when i try in wme it's slow too, the animation have 25 frames only, and is a sequence of arm movement (center/front -> frames 1-7, front/center -> frames 7-13, center/back -> frames 13-19, Back/center -> frames 19-25)..
In characterFx i change Fps or play velocity (I think don't import them), but in milkshape and wme, I don't know where can i change this option, can someone help me?
Thanks very much for all again!  :D
I don't have Milkshape installed on this computer, but isn't there something like "total animation time"?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

varnama

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2005, 12:12:00 PM »

Sorry i search it in all menus but nothing, only I see one option in preferences/misc with the name "Animation FPS" but is a global variable of Milkshape and afect all files and isn't regule velocity of animation, only add jumps to animation.. :-\
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5675
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Other 3d Question
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2005, 04:05:42 PM »

Ok, so, unless I'm mistaken, Milkshape uses fixed framerate. Which means to slow down the animation you'd have to stretch it into more frames and vice versa. I suppose the "Scale animation" tool is supposed to do that automatically, but in my case it deformed the skeleton as well :( Perhaps you'd be able to stretch the frames directly in CharFX?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave
Pages: [1] 2  All
 

Page created in 0.249 seconds with 22 queries.