Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: Menu as Scene with actors  (Read 2350 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BadApple

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Menu as Scene with actors
« on: March 15, 2006, 08:21:03 PM »

Hi, does anyone know if the menu can contain a game .scene, complete with 3D actors? The idea is to make the main menu (save/load/quit) better looking by using a scene in some way.

BadApple
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5679
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Menu as Scene with actors
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2006, 11:00:40 PM »

Yes, it's perfectly possible. The game doesn't really care what you use the scenes for. Of course, you will need to do some juggling with your game actors, i.e. to hide them when entering the menu scene and re-enable them later when leaving the menu etc.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

BadApple

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Menu as Scene with actors
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2006, 03:50:11 PM »

Ok, but you can't have scenes appearing/acting as a menu? I want to be able to put a scene in the background of a menu, rather than use an image file. The 3D actors would also appear in the scene/menu. The aim is to create an interesting interafce using a scene, instead of a static image with buttons. A recent example in games, would be the King Kong game menu...3d scene in background, buttons overlayed in front.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2006, 03:52:13 PM by BadApple »
Logged

metamorphium

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1511
  • Vampires!
    • View Profile
    • CBE  software s.r.o.
Re: Menu as Scene with actors
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2006, 04:15:41 PM »

We do have a scene acting as a menu in destinies. So I don't see a reason why this shouldn't be possible. Simply create a
scene with all bells and whistles. Put some buttons there (either through window or some png overlays) and you are set.
Logged
J.U.L.I.A. Enhanced Edition, Vampires!, J.U.L.I.A., J.U.L.I.A. Untold, Ghost in the Sheet

leucome

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Leucome Games
Re: Menu as Scene with actors
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2006, 02:12:04 PM »

Yes! you only need to make menu backgroung transparant an load the scenes you want .
Logged
Look my Site ——► http://news.leucome.ca

BadApple

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Menu as Scene with actors
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2006, 04:17:36 PM »

Great! I'll give it a go. Thanks all.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.127 seconds with 24 queries.