Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This forum provides RSS feed. To query recent posts use this url. More...


Author Topic: Controlling Actor3D transparency.  (Read 1717 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ErV

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 54
  • I regret nothing!
    • View Profile
Controlling Actor3D transparency.
« on: October 19, 2006, 03:43:58 PM »

Hello.
How can I control actor(3D) transparency? (for example - disappearing ghot) I need to set transparency to a specific value, calculated in script. Is this functionality supported?
Logged

metamorphium

  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1511
  • Vampires!
    • View Profile
    • CBE  software s.r.o.
Re: Controlling Actor3D transparency.
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 04:16:47 PM »

it would be hard to do this since you can't access texture sprite directly. But what you can do very easily is to create an overlay
without an actor which you set initially to full transparent (invisible) and then animate it over by gradually adding alpha value.

This will achieve this effect you need. Another way how to do this is not use 3d actor for this particular animation but a sprite.
Maybe you can try also changing actors' texture to animated sprite, but this is untested.
Logged
J.U.L.I.A. Enhanced Edition, Vampires!, J.U.L.I.A., J.U.L.I.A. Untold, Ghost in the Sheet

ErV

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 54
  • I regret nothing!
    • View Profile
Re: Controlling Actor3D transparency.
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 09:23:29 PM »

it would be hard to do this since you can't access texture sprite directly. But what you can do very easily is to create an overlay
without an actor which you set initially to full transparent (invisible) and then animate it over by gradually adding alpha value.

This will achieve this effect you need. Another way how to do this is not use 3d actor for this particular animation but a sprite.
Maybe you can try also changing actors' texture to animated sprite, but this is untested.

Thanks, but that's not what I need, since I was going to use a several transparent 3D actors at once, and those actors were required to overlap 3d geometry of other actors.
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5679
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Controlling Actor3D transparency.
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2006, 08:30:39 AM »

Wouldn't a semi-transparent texture with an alpha channel be enough for your cause?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

ErV

  • Occasional poster
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 54
  • I regret nothing!
    • View Profile
Re: Controlling Actor3D transparency.
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2006, 10:57:45 AM »

Wouldn't a semi-transparent texture with an alpha channel be enough for your cause?
No, becuase transparency should be controlled by script.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.192 seconds with 24 queries.