Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum rules - please read before posting, it can save you a lot of time.

Author Topic: Screen resolutions  (Read 3125 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PaulJG

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Screen resolutions
« on: July 11, 2008, 08:48:19 PM »

Hi Guys, just finding my way around WME. (and lovin it!!)

Gone through the tuts, started to experiement with some code of my own, are there any tuts anywhere on the 3d aspect?

Can understand the 2d, but cant seem to find any info on how you'd go about using 3d, and the 3d settings in the scene editor??
Lastly.. I can see you setup your screen resolution when you firstly define your project, but is there anyway of letting the user change to a different resolution when they are running your game?

I would have thought if the game was being rendered somewhere in memory, you'd be able to scale up or down the image to fit a new res?
(eg.. I want to use 1650x1050 res to make my game, but I doubt other people would want to use that res to run the game)

Thanks, Paul.
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolutions
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2008, 10:19:26 PM »

The 3D support in WME is about real-time 3D characters and that part is described in the docs in the chapter "3D characters support". You can also check the wme 3D demo.

About your second question. Since WME is a 2D/2.D engine the background is always prerendered (it has fixed dimensions) so you can't change the resolution in-game.
Logged
fl*p

PaulJG

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolutions
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2008, 11:34:38 AM »

Thanks for the reply.

Way I see it, its rendering the video buffer onto a windows canvas - so really there's nothing stopping this program from supporting different resolutions.
I understand when you say its all fixed images, but these days using direct3d to render to a texture - its possible to scale up or down the image, without distortion.

After-all you'll only be scaling, not changing any of the fixed points.

A game could be rendered using high-def pictures for 1900x1200 res, and downgraded for lower resolutions.
Just a thought...
Logged

Serious.Ray

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolutions
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 09:02:26 PM »

Since I basically want to discuss exactly this topic I didn't create a new topic.

Is this limitation still around?

Because I would like to render the pictures in HQ like 1920 x 1200 but of course barely a majority can use this resolution, me excluded aswell atm. I can only use 1680 x 1050 but I would like to run the game in fullscreen nevertheless. Now when I try to do this the screen simply stays black. Is there a way to fix this meanwhile? (I was running fullscreen, Use Desktop Resolution checked but greyed out)
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 09:10:09 PM by Serious.Ray »
Logged

odnorf

  • w00t?
  • Global Moderator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 7
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1455
  • Lamp dog!
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolutions
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2011, 10:10:22 PM »

WME doesn't scale games. Whatever resolution you chose will be fixed and will only run fullscreen if the computer supports it.
Logged
fl*p

Serious.Ray

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resolutions
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2011, 11:07:57 PM »

Bad news but thx for the quick reply. Now this is one point that really should be changed in WME2!
Logged
 

Page created in 0.915 seconds with 24 queries.