Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

IRC channel - server: waelisch.de  channel: #wme (read more)

Author Topic: Possible 3D Geometry Bug  (Read 3385 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Darky

  • Supporter
  • Regular poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Spreadcamp
Possible 3D Geometry Bug
« on: February 12, 2009, 03:19:31 AM »

I made a simple scene with 1 Target Camera in 3dsmax and exported the 3D Geometry as I should. However after importing the data on WME SceneEdit, the Geometry actually was smaller than it should be while my background definitively was right since I rendered it from the same camera position etc.

A Screenshot of the Problem is here

In 3dsmax, the Camera has a FOV of 45.00 and my Game Project is in 1280x800.

With the help of 'aJynks' in the WME chat I came upon two solutions how it still fit:

1st: Set "Game Resolution" on the 3D Tab to 1024x800. Any other value will result in issues with the geometry (PICTURE)

2nd: Set "Game Resolution" back to 1280x800. Check "Override camera FOV" and set the value from "35.62" to "29.01". Got me an even better result actually (PICTURE)

Jynks thinks it's a bug and I agree because I would not think that I'd should need to do those 'Adjustments'
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 03:21:24 AM by Darky »
Logged

Jyujinkai

  • Global Moderator
  • Frequent poster
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
    • Jyujinkai's WME Development Blog
Re: Possible 3D Geometry Bug
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 03:45:49 AM »

a bug or possibly a scale problem.

WME seams to only have a threshold of .00 decimal places on the fov... max can have as many as you like. Try setting max so that it can only adjust things to 2 decimal places.. instead of 3 or 4 or w/e you have set. This may fix it.
Logged
<Antoine de Saint-Exupéry> In any thing at all, perfection is finally attained not when there is no longer anything to add, but when there is no longer anything to take away...
<Carl Sagan> If you want to make a apple pie from scratch. You must first... invent the universe

Darky

  • Supporter
  • Regular poster
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Spreadcamp
Re: Possible 3D Geometry Bug
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 12:15:33 AM »

Where exactly do I do that? I am new to 3dsmax and I have the default settings.
Logged
 

Page created in 0.228 seconds with 22 queries.