Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: Sound Problem  (Read 1644 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Adventure Bird

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Sound Problem
« on: August 02, 2009, 09:02:54 PM »

Hello

I have a problem with playing sounds. I'm using WME(1.8.1) first time, probably it's something simple.
I tried to play a audio file (ogg/wav) but if I run the project: nothing happens. The IsMusicPlaying() function shows that the music is running. Volume is on 100%. No sprites kill sound and nothing muted.

I tried to open the demo project 2d, but there is also the same problem.
The sound in demo 3d project is running nicely. Other completed game projects like "Dirty Split" are ok, too.
In Project Manager sounds in preview modus are working fine, too.

I'm working on Vista 32bit, Sound Blaster X-Fi.

If I run a project, windows sound mixer volume for the application is set to 0 volume. But if i set the value higher there is also no effect.

Sorry for bad english and best regards from switzerland
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5681
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: Sound Problem
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2009, 09:30:19 PM »

It sounds that the volume is set to zero. The game remembers previous volume when you quit / restart the game. Try calling the Game.SetGlobalXXXVolume() functions and set the volume to 100% (for example Game.SetGlobalMusicVolume(100); )
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Adventure Bird

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problem
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 07:04:48 PM »

Thank's a lot. I found the problem. It's a shame, but it had to do with my soundblaster configuration. I use a 7.1 Surround system, output from game was sent to the left and right speaker, but both of them was configured to a special mode. So all output get lost. Now it's working perfectly.

Logged
 

Page created in 0.77 seconds with 24 queries.