Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

For WME related articles and tutorials visit WME Resource Center.

Author Topic: blk_region problem (SOLVED KIND OF)  (Read 2583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mylesblasonato

  • Developer
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 265
  • "Give up is to fail as sacrifice is to succeed"
    • View Profile
    • Royal Wins
blk_region problem (SOLVED KIND OF)
« on: August 12, 2009, 02:28:46 AM »

Hi guys...again :)
I have another problem and this time it's with the "blk_" naming convention for blocked regions. I have named the mesh in the middle of the following pic "blk_flower" but for some reason the character still treats it like its not there (not named properly)



Anyone know why it's doing that?
Cheers  ::beer
Myles Blasonato.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 02:33:01 AM by mylesb »
Logged
Lead Game Designer, Royal Wins.
@mylesblasonato
@royalwins
http://au.linkedin.com/pub/myles-blasonato/26/600/a38

Azrael

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 9
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • Mad Orange
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 06:53:19 AM »

If you use "Find path using 2D elements only" the blk_ in geometry only works for stencil shadows, not as blocked region.
You have to set a blocked region by creating it in SceneEdit.
Logged

mylesblasonato

  • Developer
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 265
  • "Give up is to fail as sacrifice is to succeed"
    • View Profile
    • Royal Wins
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 10:07:16 AM »

Hi there,
Ok so what if I untick the "Find path using 2D elements only" box, will it work then?
I want to have it so that when the character walks behind it and infront of it, the character appears and dissapears accordingly.

Cheers  ::beer
Myles Blasonato.

Logged
Lead Game Designer, Royal Wins.
@mylesblasonato
@royalwins
http://au.linkedin.com/pub/myles-blasonato/26/600/a38

Azrael

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 9
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • Mad Orange
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2009, 11:41:21 AM »

Sorry, with "Find path using 2D elements only" the blk_ also hides the actors :P

Yes if you untick it the actor should not be able to go trough the blk_.
Also you need a .geometry file as written in documentation.

Obviously if you untick "Find path using 2D elements only" you have to put waypoints in the 3DS of the scene.
Logged

mylesblasonato

  • Developer
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 265
  • "Give up is to fail as sacrifice is to succeed"
    • View Profile
    • Royal Wins
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2009, 01:00:32 AM »

Hi man,
I tried that and it still doesn't work. I have no idea WTH! is going on. I even looked at the 3D source that i downloaded from here, sorry to the creator for not remembering your name. It has a couch in one of the scenes that acts the way i want the flower orniment in our game to act but i looked in his 3ds file and it has blk_sofa_none for the name so i even changed mine to that but it still didn't work and i even copied his settings for the scene and nothing happens. Is the shadow file needed and if so what for?

Cheers  ::beer
Myles Blasonato.
Logged
Lead Game Designer, Royal Wins.
@mylesblasonato
@royalwins
http://au.linkedin.com/pub/myles-blasonato/26/600/a38

Azrael

  • Regular poster
  • ***
  • Karma: 9
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
    • Mad Orange
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2009, 07:13:42 AM »

Do you have a .geometry file with the same name of the 3ds in the scene's folder?
Logged

mylesblasonato

  • Developer
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 265
  • "Give up is to fail as sacrifice is to succeed"
    • View Profile
    • Royal Wins
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2009, 11:56:48 PM »

Yeah, I created one and put the stuff from the WME doc in there and still nothing. Any ideas?

Cheers  ::beer
Myles Blasonato.
Logged
Lead Game Designer, Royal Wins.
@mylesblasonato
@royalwins
http://au.linkedin.com/pub/myles-blasonato/26/600/a38

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5679
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2009, 12:19:03 PM »

You shouldn't rely on the hidden geometry to mask the actors for you. It only works for stencil shadows and it's bit of a side effect. Scene layering should be done using the good old 2D way, as described in Scene creation tutorial in the docs.
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

mylesblasonato

  • Developer
  • Frequent poster
  • ****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 265
  • "Give up is to fail as sacrifice is to succeed"
    • View Profile
    • Royal Wins
Re: blk_region problem
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2009, 05:58:34 AM »

Thanks for the answer Mnemonic,
I guess i'll stick the old fashioned way.

Cheers ::beer
Myles Blasonato.
Logged
Lead Game Designer, Royal Wins.
@mylesblasonato
@royalwins
http://au.linkedin.com/pub/myles-blasonato/26/600/a38
 

Page created in 0.148 seconds with 24 queries.