Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest WME version: WME 1.9.1 (January 1st, 2010) - download

Author Topic: New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits  (Read 3673 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Prote1n

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits
« on: March 19, 2010, 06:16:55 PM »

I was using using WME under Windows 7 64 bit till today without problems

Today the game crashed in a scene with particles as the same scene was working well under XP.
And now I've lost the debugging console (parameters are right in ProjectMan). I tried to uninstall/install WME, cleaned the registry, restoring previous Windows restauration point ...
Another trouble the ESC does not work anymore in the WME but works in package.

Does anybody else have the same trouble. I absolutely don't have any more ideas to fix it

Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2010, 09:27:01 PM »

Quote
And now I've lost the debugging console
Define "lost". It doesn't display at all? Not even a button on a taskbar? Do you get the "Error loading 'wme_console.dll'." error in wme.log file?
The console requires .NET Framework 2.0 and Visual C++ runtime (the runtime is installed with WME).
Does WindowEdit work?

Quote
Another trouble the ESC does not work anymore in the WME but works in package.
I found that if Photoshop (CS3) is running in the background, it steals the Esc key from other applications. Not sure if it's Win7 specific, or if it's a "feature".
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Prote1n

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2010, 10:08:43 PM »

Fixed !

The debugging console was running but hidden for an unknown reason. I could see the task in Windows Task Manager. Simply Swap the process and it reappears on screen ... There's so many stange things I discover with Windows 7

Thanks for your reply




« Last Edit: March 19, 2010, 10:16:08 PM by Prote1n »
Logged

Mnemonic

  • WME developer
  • Administrator
  • Addicted to WME forum
  • *
  • Karma: 41
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5677
    • View Profile
    • Dead:Code Site
Re: New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2010, 10:13:30 PM »

One thing you can try is: in Windows Explorer, type the following address to the address bar: %appdata%\Wintermute Engine\DebugConsole
You should see a file called LastSettings.xml. Delete the file. That will reset the console settings to default.
Then try running the game from ProjectMan and see if the file is recreated.

No idea about the Escape key. Other keys work?
Logged
Yes, I do have a twitter account
Please don't send me technical questions in private messages, use the forum. ::wave

Prote1n

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 10:23:23 PM »

I've succeed to reproduce it.

I have a scene where a particule effect is crashing systematically under Windows 7 but runs well under XP. I'll do a separate topic once i will identify the bug step by step first

If i run this scene, WME crashes. Windows 7 suggests to close the program (ans also the debugging console). If I restart WME the debugging console is hidden and I need to reactivate it with the Task Manager

Logged

Prote1n

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: New Problem under Windows 7 64 bits
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2010, 10:55:22 AM »

In fact it seems that the problem of the debugging console and the ESC key are linked.

While debugging the game, if you iconize the debugging console in the task bar, you're loosing the ESC key. If you restore it in windowed mode, you retrieve the ESC key
« Last Edit: March 23, 2010, 10:43:59 AM by Prote1n »
Logged
 

Page created in 0.154 seconds with 22 queries.